How to look for records of...
-
Schools
Recommended guideKeywords: education historyschools - African ancestors – an overview
Keywords: africaafricanemigrationimmigration - Aliens’ registration cards 1918-1957
Keywords: digitised recordsonline collections - Apprentices and masters
Keywords: apprenticeshiplabour historymaster craftsmen and tradesmentradesmen - Architectural drawings
Keywords: architecturebuildingsplans - Architectural history records held by other archives
Keywords: architecturebuildingsplans - Art and artists
Keywords: art and artists - Asylums, psychiatric hospitals and mental health
Keywords: asylums (hospitals)healthhealth policyhospitalslunatic asylumsmental health - Australian and New Zealand ancestors – an overview
Keywords: australiaemigrationimmigrationnew zealand - Bankrupts and insolvent debtors
Keywords: bankruptsdebtorsinsolvencyprisonersprisons - Black British social and political history in the 20th century
Keywords: africaafricanblackblack britishcaribbeancivil rightsrace relationswest indian - Bomb Census survey 1940-1945
Keywords: air raidsbomb censuscasualties of wardatasetssecond world warstatisticssurveysworld war two - Caribbean ancestors – an overview
Keywords: caribbeanimmigration - Catholics
Keywords: burialscatholicsrecusants catholicreligious history - Census records
Keywords: censusdatasetsdigitised recordsonline collectionspopulationstatisticssurveys All records viewable online - Chancel repair liabilities in England and Wales
Keywords: chancel repairstithes - Children’s homes
Keywords: borstalschildren's homes - Civil court cases: disputed wills
Keywords: civil litigationcourts of lawdeathsearly modern periodlaw and orderprerogative court of canterburyprobatetrialswills - Civil or crown servants
Keywords: civil servantscrown servantsgovernment employeesroyal household - Civilian gallantry medals, honours and other awards
Keywords: awardscivilian gallantry awardsgallantry medalshonoursmedals - Coastguard officers
Keywords: coastguard - Coastguard stations and administration
Keywords: coastguardcustoms (tax)shipping - Court of Wards and Liveries 1540-1645: land inheritance and disputes
Keywords: civil litigationcourts of lawdeeds (property ownership)early modern periodlandland ownershipwards and liveries (court of) - Courts of law records from the medieval period: general eyres 1194-1348
Keywords: civil litigationcourts of lawcrime and criminalscriminal courtseyres (general)general eyreslaw and ordermedieval periodtrials - Crown, church and royalist lands 1642-1660
Keywords: church landscivil war (english)early modern periodestates (landed gentry)landland ownership - Customs officers
Keywords: customs (tax)inland revenue - Disability history
Keywords: civil rightsdisability - Dissolution of the monasteries 1536-1540
Keywords: abbeyschurch landsdissolution of the monasteriesearly modern periodmonasteriesreligious history - Divorce
Keywords: annulment of marriagecourts of lawdivorce - Doctors and nurses
Keywords: doctorshospitalsmedical servicesnursespatients in hospital - Domesday Book
Keywords: datasetsdigitised recordsdomesday booklandland ownershipmedieval periodonline collectionsstatisticssurveys All records viewable online - Economic policy and government spending in the 20th century
Keywords: cabinet officeeconomic historyfinancial records of governmenttaxationtreasury - Education history records held by other archives
Keywords: collegeseducation historyschoolsuniversities - Emigration and emigrants
Keywords: america (emigration to)australia (emigration to)canada (emigration to)emigrationmigrationnew zealand (emigration to) - Empire and Commonwealth records held by other archives
Keywords: british empirecoloniescommonwealth of nationsdominions (british) - Enclosure awards and maps
Keywords: enclosure (land)landland ownershipmaps - Enslaved people and slave owners
Keywords: abolition of slaverybritish empirecaribbeancoloniesslavery - Excise and Inland Revenue officers
Keywords: excise (tax)inland revenue - Famous wills 1552-1854
Keywords: digitised recordsonline collections All records viewable online - Film, television and performing arts records held by other archives
Keywords: actorsfilmtelevisiontheatre - Garden history records held by other archives
Keywords: garden history - Government film-making and the film industry
Keywords: filmpropaganda - Government surveys, statistics and other datasets from the National Digital Archive of Datasets, 1963-2010
Keywords: datasetsdigital datasetsdigitised recordsnational digital archive of datasetsonline collectionsstatisticssurveys All records viewable online - Historical education policy and administration: childcare, schools for disabled children and other special services
Keywords: disabilityeducation historyschools - Historical education policy and administration: elementary and primary schools
Keywords: education historypoor lawsschools - Historical education policy and administration: inspection reports
Keywords: collegeseducation historyinspection of schoolspoor lawsschools - Historical education policy and administration: secondary schools
Keywords: education historyschools - Historical education policy and administration: teacher training
Keywords: education historyschoolsteachers - Historical education policy and administration: technical and vocational further education and schools of art
Keywords: collegeseducation history - Home Office correspondence from 1782
Keywords: crime and criminalshealthhome officepoverty - Hospitals
Keywords: healthhospitalsmedical patientsmedical servicespatients in hospital - Houses
Keywords: architecturebuildingshousestitle deeds - Immigration and immigrants
Keywords: aliens (foreign nationals)british citizenshipimmigrationinterneesmigrationnaturalisationpassengers - Indian indentured labourers
Keywords: indentured labourindian indentured labourlabour history - Intellectual property: patents of invention
Keywords: intellectual propertyinventionspatent officepatents of invention - Intellectual property: photographs, artwork, literature, music and advertising registered for copyright 1842-1924 (and 1887-1955)
Keywords: art and artistscopyright registrationintellectual propertyphotographsstationery office - Intellectual property: registered designs 1839-1991
Keywords: copyright registrationdesign manufacturingdiamond marksintellectual propertyregistered designs - Intellectual property: trade marks, 1876-1938
Keywords: intellectual propertypatent officeregistered designstrade marks - International boundaries
Keywords: borders (international)boundaries (international)coloniesdiplomacyforeign affairsinternational relationsmaps - Internees
Keywords: aliens (foreign nationals)first world warimmigrationinterneesmigrationpowsprisoners of warsecond world warworld war oneworld war two - Irish ancestors – an overview
Keywords: emigrationimmigrationireland - Jewish people and communities in Britain and its former colonies
Keywords: anglo jewish historyemigrationimmigrationjewish historymigration - Labour history records held by other archives
Keywords: industrylabour historytrade unions - Land and property for charitable use: trust deeds, 1736-1963
Keywords: charitable trustsconveyance of landdeeds (property ownership)early modern periodlandland ownershiptrust deeds - Land and property ownership: conveyances by feet of fines 1182-1833
Keywords: conveyance of landdeeds (property ownership)early modern periodfines (land conveyances)landland ownership - Land and property ownership: enrolment and registration of title 1227-c1930
Keywords: conveyance of landdeeds (property ownership)early modern periodlandland ownershiptitle deeds - Land ownership, use and rights: common lands
Keywords: common landlandland ownership - Land use, value and ownership: Valuation Office Survey 1910-1915
Keywords: datasetsfinance 1909-1910 actlandland ownershipmapsstatisticssurveystaxationvaluation office - Landed estates
Keywords: estates (landed gentry)landland ownership - Lawyers
Keywords: attorneysbarristerslawyerssolicitors - London Metropolitan Police
Keywords: metropolitan policepolice - Looted art 1939-1961
Keywords: art and artistsdigitised recordsforeign affairsinternational relationsonline collectionssecond world warworld war two All records viewable online - Manorial documents and lordships and how to use the Manorial Documents Register
Keywords: early modern periodlandland ownershipmanorial documents registermanors - Manors and manorial records
Keywords: early modern periodlandland ownershipmanorsmaps - Maps and plans
Keywords: early modern periodmapsplans - Markets and fairs
Keywords: chartersfairsmarkets - Medieval financial records: pipe rolls 1130-c.1300
Keywords: economic historyexchequerfinancial records of governmentpipe rolls - Merchant Navy ships’ records: registration of merchant ships
Keywords: merchant navynavyshipping - Militia
Keywords: armybritish armymedalsmilitiapensionssoldiervolunteer soldiers - Mines and mining
Keywords: business historycoal miningindustrylabour historymining - Naturalisation, registration and British citizenship
Keywords: aliens (foreign nationals)british citizenshipcertificates of british citizenshipimmigrationmigrationnaturalisation - Nazi persecution and the Holocaust
Keywords: control commissionforeign officeholocaustjewish historynazi germanysecond world warwar crimesworld war two - Newspapers
Keywords: newspaperspress - Nonconformists
Keywords: baptismsbirthsdeathsearly modern periodmarriagesnonconformistsreligious history - Olympic and Paralympic Games and sporting history
Keywords: olympicsparalympicssport - Passenger lists
Keywords: digitised recordsonline collections All records viewable online - Passengers
Keywords: aliens (foreign nationals)emigrationimmigrationmigrationpassengers - Passports
Keywords: british citizenshipemigrationimmigrationmigrationnaturalisationpassport - People in business and trades
Keywords: business historyindustrylabour historytrade and industrytradesmen - Photographs
Keywords: photographs - Police
Keywords: metropolitan policepalestine policepoliceroyal irish constabularytransport police - Poverty and the Poor Laws
Keywords: pauperspoor lawspovertyworkhouses - Prisoners and prison staff
Keywords: - Prisons and prison staff
Keywords: law and orderprison staffprisons - Propaganda
Keywords: first world warpropagandasecond world warworld war oneworld war two - Public health and social policy in the 19th century
Keywords: epidemicshealthpolitical history (general) - Public health and social policy in the 20th century
Keywords: diseaseshealthmedical servicesmental healthpolitical history (general)welfare - Public rights of way, roads and other highways
Keywords: landland ownershipmapsordnance surveypublic rights of wayrights of way - Railway workers
Keywords: railwaystrains - Railways
Keywords: railwaystrains - Refugees
Keywords: aliens (foreign nationals)emigrationimmigrationjewish historymigrationrefugees - Royal Irish Constabulary, 1836-1922
Keywords: irelandpoliceroyal irish constabulary - Sexuality and gender identity history
Keywords: civil rightsgay and lesbian historygenderlesbian and gay historylgbtqsexuality - Slavery and the British transatlantic slave trade
Keywords: abolition of slaverybritish empirecaribbeancoloniesslavery - Tithes
Keywords: datasetslandland ownershipmapsstatisticssurveystaxationtithes - Towns and cities
Keywords: citiestowns - Treasury Board letters and papers 1557-1920
Keywords: early modern periodeconomic historyfinancial records of governmentinland revenuetaxationtreasury - UFOs
Keywords: ufos - Victorian prisoners’ photograph albums 1872-1873
Keywords: digitised recordsonline collectionsphotographsprisoners All records viewable online - Villages and the countryside
Keywords: countrysidenational parkparishruralvillages - Wills and administrations after 1858
Keywords: administrations of probatedeath duties (tax)duties and taxesprerogative court of canterburyprobatetaxes and dutieswills - Wills and administrations before 1858
Keywords: administrations of probatedeath duties (tax)deathsduties and taxesearly modern periodprerogative court of canterburyprobatetaxes and dutieswills - Women’s suffrage
Keywords: civil rightssuffragettessuffragistsvotes for women - Workhouse inmates and staff
Keywords: pauperspoor lawsworkhouses