How to look for Census records

How can I view the records covered in this guide?

View online

How many are online?

  • None
  • Some
  • All

Order copies

We do not provide copies of online records – please download to view

Pay for research

Use our paid search service or find an independent researcher

Visit us

Visit us in Kew to see original documents or view online records for free

1. Why use this guide?

This guide tells you how to access the historical censuses from 1841 to 1911 and provides information for researchers using the census returns of:

  • England
  • Wales
  • the Channel Islands
  • the Isle of Man

All later censuses remain in the custody of the Office for National Statistics. They will remain closed to the public for 100 years after the date they were conducted.


Read section 9 for more information on the census returns for Scotland and Ireland.

2. Essential information

A census has been taken every ten years since 1801 with the exception of 1941.

The 1841 census was the first to list the names of every individual.

3. How to access the censuses

Census records for England and Wales from 1841 to 1911 are available online (£) via the links in the table below.

You can search the online census returns by name, browse by place, or locate an exact page if you have the full census reference.

The websites in the table below are subscription-based websites. It is free to search these websites, but there is a charge to view full transcriptions and download documents. However, you can view them free of charge onsite at The National Archives in Kew whilst many libraries and record offices have subscriptions to one or both of these websites.

Census Search by Provided by
1911 Person Address
1901 Person Address Vessel Institution
1891 England Wales Channel Islands Isle of Man
1881 England Wales Channel Islands Isle of Man
1871 England Wales Channel Islands Isle of Man
1861 England Wales Channel Islands Isle of Man
1851 England Wales Channel Islands Isle of Man
1841 England Wales Channel Islands Isle of Man

For 1871 census registration district maps see

Most local and county record offices also hold microfilm or microfiche copies of the census returns for their own area, excluding 1911. Use Find an archive to find contact details for local and county record offices.

The 1921 census, and all later censuses which survive are kept by the Office for National Statistics. These censuses will only be available 100 years after the date they were conducted.

4. What information can I find in the census returns?

The following details for each individual are included in the 1851-1901 censuses:

  • first name, middle names (often just initials) and surname
  • relationship to the head of the household (usually the oldest male)
  • marital status
  • age (at last birthday)
  • sex
  • occupation (their source of income)
  • county and parish of birth (if born in England or Wales)
  • country of birth (if born outside England and Wales)
  • whether they suffered from certain medical disabilities
  • language spoken (in Wales, from 1891; on the Isle of Man, from 1901)
  • the full address and, progressively with each census, more information about the dwelling itself

The following information is in the 1841 census:

  • first name and surname
  • age (rounded down to the nearest five for those aged 15 or over)
  • sex
  • occupation
  • whether they were born in the county in which they were enumerated (Y or N)
  • whether they were born in Scotland (S), Ireland (I) or Foreign Parts (F)

House numbers were rarely given in earlier census years, and in rural areas you will often find only the name of the village or hamlet.

As well as information provided in the previous censuses, 1911 includes:

  • a married woman’s ‘fertility in marriage’ – length of present marriage and number of children born of that marriage, living or deceased
  • detailed occupational data
  • extra detail  on nationality
  • exact birthplaces for people born in Scotland or Ireland

5. Understanding the census

From 1841 to 1901 a census schedule was completed for each household, and was then collected by the enumerator who copied the information into an enumeration book. It is these enumeration books that we consult today online and on microfilm.

Special enumeration books were completed for institutions such as workhouses, barracks and hospitals. There were special schedules for vessels from 1851 onwards.

In 1911 all the household schedules were kept (RG 14), and were not copied into enumeration books. There are instead enumerators’ summary books which list every address, including unoccupied buildings, and only contain the names of the head of each household (RG 78). The 1911 was also the first census where the army overseas was enumerated; previously there was only a headcount.

For more information about each census, read the catalogue descriptions in:

6. When were the censuses taken?

The dates of the censuses were as follows:

1841 6 June 1881 3 April
1851 30 March 1891 5 April
1861 7 April 1901 31 March
1871 2 April 1911 2 April

In the censuses in 1801, 1811, 1821 and 1831 lists of names were not collected centrally, although some are held in local record offices. Read Local Census Listings or Pre-1841 censuses and population listings in the British Isles for more information.

7. Records of the 1939 Register Service

Request data from the 1939 Register Service £ (England and Wales), as recorded on the 29 September 1939. This register, similar to but not the same as the census, contains personal information including:

  • date of birth
  • name and address
  • marital status
  • occupation

8. Why can’t I find my ancestor?

There can be many reasons why you can’t find somebody on a census return. Read our blog post ‘Missing from the census?’ to find reasons why information can be missed or altered as well as learning ways to search that might be more successful.

There are missing pages in all censuses but 1861 has suffered most. You can confirm missing parishes or districts (for 1861) using the advanced search option in Discovery, our catalogue. Enter the keyword ‘missing’ within RG 9. You can also identify pages which are known to be missing within some enumeration districts by using the exact phrase ‘missing pages’ within RG 9. For more guidance on how to search our catalogue, read Discovery search help.

9. What about census returns for Scotland and Ireland?

Scotland (1841-1911)

Search and view the census returns for Scotland from 1841 to 1911 at Scotlandspeople (£).

Census returns for Scotland are almost identical in format to those for England and Wales, except for 1911, when similarly detailed information was gathered, but was then copied into enumeration books as in previous years.

Indexes to the Scottish censuses 1841-1901 are also available on Ancestry (£) and (£). None of these indexes has links to digitised images.

Ireland (1901 and 1911 only)

View digitised and indexed images of the 1901 and 1911 census records for Ireland (including Northern Ireland) on the National Archives of Ireland website.

Unfortunately, few 19th century Irish census returns have survived.

Use the CensusFinder for locating Irish census substitutes and surviving fragments of the 19th century censuses.

10. Other useful online resources

Search name indexes for 1841-1911 censuses of England and Wales, Channel Islands and Isle of Man on FamilySearch and partial census transcripts for England, Wales and Scotland on FreeCEN.

Read about the fire that destroyed the 1931 Census for England and Wales, Channel Islands and Isle of Man and consult the street indexes at Historical Streets Project. These are both on the Your Archives pages now held in the UK Government Web Archive.

Browse Vision of Britain for reports based on information from censuses up to 1971, or search for census data relating to a town or district

Consult The Online Historical Population Reports for online access to the complete population reports for Britain and Ireland from 1801 to 1937 and extensive background information including examples of documents.

11. Further reading

Use our library catalogue to find a recommended book list. The books are all available in The National Archives’ reference library. You may also be able to find them in a local library. You can buy from a wide range of history titles in our bookshop.

Search our blogs for posts relating to the census.

Guide reference: Domestic Records Information 99 | Last updated: 14 December 2010