Opening times

Our reading rooms, exhibitions, shop and café are free to visit and open to all between Tuesday and Saturday. Our building opens to visitors at 09:00, until the reading rooms close (Sunday times differ).

Our exhibitions, café and shop are also open on the first Sunday of the month, between 11:00 and 16:00.

Reading rooms and document ordering

 Reading roomsDocuments can be ordered between
Tuesday09:30 to 19:0009:30 to 16:00
Wednesday09:30 to 17:0009:30 to 15:30
Thursday09:30 to 19:0009:30 to 16:00
Friday09:30 to 17:0009:30 to 15:30
Saturday09:30 to 17:0009:30 to 15:30

Our other services

Our café is open between 09:00 and 16:00 Tuesday to Saturday, and the first Sunday of the month between 11:00 and 15:00.

Our shop is open between 10:00 and 17:00 Tuesday to Saturday, and the first Sunday of the month between 11:00 and 16:00.

Our car park is open from 08:00 and closes 30 minutes after our building.

Closure dates

All dates listed below are inclusive. Some dates may be subject to change.

  • Christmas 2022: Saturday 24 December to Wednesday 28 December
  • New Year’s Day: Saturday 31 December to Monday 2 January 2023
  • Easter: Friday 7 April to Monday 10 April (we will close at 17:00 on Thursday 6 April)
  • Early May Bank Holiday: Saturday 29 April to Monday 1 May
  • Coronation Weekend: Saturday 6 April to Monday 8 May
  • Spring Bank Holiday: Saturday 27 May to Monday 29 May
  • Summer Bank Holiday: Saturday 26 August to Monday 28 August
  • Christmas 2023: Saturday 23 to Wednesday 27 December
  • New Year’s Day 2023/4: Saturday 30 December to Monday 1 January 2024