Route of Jarrow marchers

Details of the Jarrow March from the Ministry of Labour sent to the Home Office, 26th September 1936 (MEPO 2/3097)

Transcript

COPY

BOROUGH OF JARROW
PROTEST MARCH TO LONDON

To.No. of miles.Date of arrival.
CHESTER LE STREET 12Monday, 5th October.
FERRYHILL 12Tuesday, 6th October.
DARLINGTON 16Wednesday, 7th October.
NORTHALLERTON Thursday, 8th October.
THIRSK 11Friday, 9th October.
BOROUGHBRIDGE 10½ Saturday, 10th October.
(Sunday - rest)
HARROGATE 15½ Monday, 12th October.
LEEDS 9Tuesday, 13th October.
WAKEFIELD Wednesday, 14th October.
BARNSLEY 13½ Thursday, 15th October.
SHEFFIELD 11¾ Friday, 16th October.
CHESTERFIELD 12Saturday, 17th October.
(Sunday - rest)
MANSFIELD 14¼ Monday, 19th October.
NOTTINGHAM 15Tuesday, 20th October.
LOUGHBOROUGH 11¼ Wednesday, 21st October.
LEICESTER 14½ Thursday, 22nd October.
MARKET HARBOROUGH 17¼ Friday, 23rd October.
NORTHAMPTON 21Saturday, 24th October.
(Sunday - rest)
BEDFORD 19Monday, 26th October.
(Tuesday - rest)
LUTON 10½ Wednesday, 28th October.
ST. ALBANS 11Thursday, 29th October.
EDGWARE (L' don) Friday, 30th October.
LONDON (Marble Arch) -Saturday, 31st October
Return to Thirties Britain