How to look for records of... Caribbean social and cultural history

1. Why use this guide?

This guide is designed to help you locate records relating to Caribbean social and cultural history held at The National Archives.

It offers practical advice on how to find materials originating from both Britain and the former British West Indies. Alongside guidance on using our records, it also points to alternative sources where available.

In this guide, ‘Caribbean communities’ refers to people of Caribbean heritage. For help tracing your family history, see our guide to Caribbean ancestors.

1.1 Before you start

The National Archives holds records from UK central government departments and law courts. We do not hold community archives. References to Caribbean culture or religion appear only when relevant to government policy.

Many records relating to British colonial governance in the Caribbean are not held in the UK. After independence, internal administrative records remained in the Caribbean.

These include:

• Birth, marriage and death registers.
• Land ownership records.
• Correspondence with local government departments (e.g. departments of agriculture).
• Hospital and school records.

To access these records, you’ll need to contact the national archives or relevant institutions in the country where the records were created. See section 9 for help locating a Caribbean national archive.

1.2 Offensive language and terminology

When conducting research at The National Archives, you may encounter language that is outdated or offensive. We retain original titles and descriptions because they reflect the historical context and viewpoints of the time in which the records were created. Preserving this terminology is essential to maintaining the integrity of the archival record.

Our online catalogue does not include content warnings, so please be mindful when browsing or ordering records. To learn more, see our guidance on offensive terminology in The National Archives catalogue.

2. Online records

This section offers guidance on accessing online resources related to Caribbean social and cultural history. These are original historical records that have been digitised. Many online records require a paid subscription, but you may be able to access them for free at local libraries, archives, or universities.

You are welcome to visit us to view these online records using our public computers, where access is free of charge.

2.1 Newspapers

Start online to find newspapers or articles about Caribbean communities in Britain and the Caribbean. Several websites offer access to relevant newspapers, including:

• British Newspaper Archive – (includes newspapers from Britain and the British Caribbean. charges apply).
• The Gazette – (includes the London, Belfast, and Edinburgh Gazette).
• Digital Library of the Caribbean – (includes the Caribbean Newspaper Digital Collection and other resources).

2.2 Administrative records of British colonial governments

To locate records from 1573 to 1739 (covering North America and the West Indies), start by searching the subscription database Colonial State Papers published by ProQuest or British History Online.

Colonial Office correspondence records related to the Caribbean from 1624 to 1870 are available in the subscription database Colonial Caribbean published by AM Digital.

2.3 Photographs, maps and plans

The National Archives holds many photographs, maps, and plans taken or collected by British diplomats and officials in the Caribbean. Some of these have been digitised.

You can view a selection of these images through our Image Library website and the World Through a Lens gallery on Flickr. Please note that these platforms do not include our full collection.

3. Accessing original records

Our online catalogue  displays records using a title, reference number, and brief description. When you search using keywords, you’re searching these descriptions—not the full content of the records. Many records cannot be found using a general keyword search in our online catalogue. To locate the information you need, you may need to consult indexes, registers, or the original physical documents. This often means visiting us in person to carry out the research. For more help using our catalogue, you can watch our short video guide.

You can visit us in person to continue your research—access to our records is free of charge. Before visiting, please check our website for opening hours and ID requirements. If you can’t visit or would like someone to carry out research on your behalf, you can pay for research.

When you click on a search result, you’ll see whether the record is available online or if you need to view it onsite. You can also request copies directly from the catalogue description page. If a record is held by another archive, you’ll need to contact them directly to find out how to access it.

3.1 Keyword searches

To search our online catalogue effectively, consider the historical context and use terms that were used at the time. Section 1.2 explains our language policies in full.

Use broad search terms and combinations to uncover more records, such as:

• Jamaica AND education
• Barbados AND welfare
• Guyana AND trade
• Montserrat AND agriculture

When searching by location, consider historical names like ‘West Indies’ for the Caribbean or ‘Guiana’ for Guyana.

To research specific migrant or Indigenous groups in the Caribbean, it may be necessary to use racialised terminology that is now considered offensive or outdated.

• Indigenous communities: Carib AND St Vincent.
• African heritage: Negro AND Bahamas, Maroon AND Jamaica
• South Asian heritage: Coolie AND Tobago
• East Asian heritage: Chinese AND Coolie

Including place names where communities were concentrated can also help. For example:

• Owia AND St Vincent (Indigenous Carib community)
• Accompong AND Jamaica (Maroon town)

3.2 Searching by government department

You can use advanced search to narrow your results by date range or by department reference—usually shown as two or three capital letters at the start of a record reference (e.g. CO for Colonial Office). Below are some useful department codes and links to their description in the online catalogue.

• CO – Colonial Office
• CK – Commission for Racial Equality
• CAB – Cabinet Office
• LAB – Department of Employment
• BT – Board of Trade
• HO – Home Office
• HLG – Ministry of Housing and Local Government
• PREM – Prime Minister’s Office

Using department reference codes in the advanced search tool—alongside relevant keywords and date ranges—can help you find records related to specific areas of government activity.

4. Caribbean communities in Britain, 1919-2000

The National Archives holds a wide range of records showing how the UK government engaged with Caribbean migrant communities between 1919 to 2000. Topics include employment, housing, policing, and race relations.

If you’re researching a specific UK city, region, or community organisation, relevant records are often held in local, county, or specialist archives. For records relating to Black British history, see our guide to Black British social and political history in the 20th century.

For earlier records relating to Black British communities in Britain from 1500 to 1850, consult our Black presence webpage.

5. Communities in the Caribbean during the late colonial period,1830s-1960s

Based in London, the Colonial Office oversaw the administration of the whole of the British Empire, while local Caribbean governments managed daily affairs. Colonial Office records include key records on British commerce and governance in the Caribbean, created or received in London and organised into major record types listed below.

5.1 Government correspondence

The National Archives holds a rich collection of records offering insight into British colonial governance in the Caribbean. These include:

• Colonial Office Correspondence: Consist of letters on political, economic, and social matters. Some are searchable in our catalogue; most are accessible using the Colonial Caribbean database published by AM Digital (see section 2.2). Organised by colony — see appendix.

• Government Gazettes: Colonial newspapers with official notices and statistics. Not digitised or searchable by keywords in our catalogue. Many are available online using the Digital Library of the Caribbean (see section 2.1). Organised by colony — see appendix.

• Colonial Acts and Sessional Papers: Includes legislative activities and daily operations of colonial councils, including laws and council papers. Not digitised or searchable in our catalogue. Organised by colony — see appendix.

• Statistical Blue Books: Annual reports with data on governance, education, trade, and more. Not keyword searchable in our catalogue. Digitised in the Caribbean Colonial Statistics 1824–1950 database by British Online Archives (not accessible via The National Archives).

For further guidance and information, refer to our guide Colonies and Dependencies from 1782.

5.2 Indentured labour

During the nineteenth century, many workers arrived in the Caribbean under contracts of indenture. Our research guide on Indian indentured labourers outlines how to find related records and offers tips for researching Chinese indentured labourers.

5.3 Schools, hospitals, prisons, and social conditions

To find records on schools, hospitals, prisons, workhouses, orphanages, or welfare organisations in the Caribbean, start with the national archive of the relevant country. You may also find useful material in church, missionary, and charity records—both from the Caribbean and the UK. See section 9 for help locating a Caribbean national archive.

The National Archives holds some related material, often in the form of summary reports within Colonial Office correspondence. For example, CO 318/131 includes a list of organisations that contacted the Colonial Office about Caribbean education in 1837.

Click on any of the reference codes below to open that series in our online catalogue. To narrow your search, try using keywords like “schools,” “prisons,” or “hospitals” (for example: school AND west indies). Many of these records aren’t available online, so once you’ve found something relevant, you may need to visit us in person to view it.

• CO 859 – This series contains files of the Colonial Office: Social Services Department on trade unions, labour conditions, public health, education, housing throughout the former British Empire, 1939-1966.
• CO 950 – Includes records of the West India Royal Commission, such as working papers, oral and written evidence, and Secretariat circulars to members, 1938-1939.
• CO 1042 – Holds records of the West Indies Development and Welfare Organisation, covering welfare services, health, education, housing, public administration, 1938-1958.
• CO 318 – Contains original correspondence from across the West Indies relating to welfare, labour, economic development, education, and other matters, 1624-1951. This series is keyword searchable through the Colonial Caribbean subscription database by AM Digital (see section 2.2).

To find records in other parts of the collection, use the advanced search in the catalogue with the reference code CO. Combine keywords (e.g. “health”, “asylum”) with locations (e.g. “Barbados”) for targeted results (consult section 2.2 for relevant subscription databases).

5.4 Culture and religion

The National Archives mostly holds government records, which reference Caribbean culture or religion only when relevant to policy.

For more detailed information on cultural and religious practices, consult church and missionary archives, ethnographic museum collections, published sources, and community archives.

To search our collections, use the advanced search in the catalogue with reference code CO, combining keywords with specific locations (e.g. “obeah” AND “Jamaica”) for better results (see section 2.2 for relevant subscription databases).

5.5 Social and political activism and anti-colonial struggles

To locate records on social and political activism or anti-colonial struggles, use the advanced search in the catalogue.  Set the reference code to CO combined with relevant keywords such as “disturbance” or “rebellion” — with specific locations (e.g. “Morant Bay” AND “rebellion”) for more targeted results (refer to section 2.2 for relevant subscription databases).

Many records related to mid-twentieth century anti-colonial struggles are held in series FCO 141 also known as ‘the migrated archives’. These records aren’t available online, so once you’ve found something relevant, you’ll need to visit us in person to view them.

Click the reference code below to open that series in our online catalogue. To narrow your search, try using keyword terms such as “strike” or “unrest” — with specific locations.

• FCO 141 – Records of Former Colonial Administrations: Migrated Archives, 1835-2012.

6. Caribbean communities in the 17th-18th centuries

During the early colonial period, Britain rapidly expanded its presence in the Caribbean, record-keeping related to ports, plantations, and forts increased. While most decisions were made by local officials—whose records are often held in the Caribbean—many matters were referred to UK government bodies for review.

To support your research, we offer the following guides:

American and West Indian Colonies before 1782
Find records on:

• • British colonial administration in the Caribbean
  • Early settlements, Indigenous relations, piracy, and the transatlantic slave trade

Calendar of State Papers Colonial, 1573–1739
Use this detailed calendar index to find:

• • Summaries of correspondence between colonial governors and the Secretary of State
  • References to individuals, places, and events

High Court of Admiralty
Includes records on:

• • Ship captures and seizures in the Caribbean, including those linked to the slave trade
  • Maritime crimes such as piracy and mutiny

6.1 Indigenous communities in the Caribbean

In the late 15th century, the Caribbean was home to around 13 million Indigenous people. The Taíno lived in the Greater Antilles, and the Kalinago (also known as Caribs) lived in the Lesser Antilles. The National Archives holds very few records on the Taíno. However, some early British records mention the Kalinago, particularly where they lived alongside English settlers.

The following record series contain material relating to Indigenous communities in the Caribbean. Many of these records are not keyword searchable online. To access them, you’ll need to visit us in person and consult the original documents.

Click the reference codes below to browse the collections in our online catalogue. They are typically organised by date.

• CO 1 and CO 5 – Include early Colonial Office papers from the Leeward Islands (Barbados, St Kitts, Nevis, Antigua, and Montserrat), 1574–1757. Some records have been digitised and are keyword searchable in the ‘Colonial State Papers’ subscription database (see section 2.2).

• HCA 13 – Mentions the Indigenous peoples in the Caribbean, Central America, and the Guianas, 1536-1826.

6.2 Early settler communities

British emigration to the Caribbean began after the Treaty of London in 1604. Over the next 50 years, Britain occupied several islands, including the Bahamas, St Kitts, Montserrat, Antigua, Barbados, Nevis, Jamaica, and Grand Cayman. From the 17th century onward, tens of thousands of people left the UK and Ireland for the West Indies.

Very few passenger lists survive before 1890. For guidance on locating settler records, see our research guide on emigration and emigrants.

The State Papers are the most accessible source for letters, reports, and depositions from officials, sailors, and colonists and are searchable at Colonial State Papers (subscription required).

6.3 British transatlantic slave trade

Our research guide provides advice for locating records related to Slavery and the British transatlantic slave. It covers:

• Transportation Records: Ship logs and manifests documenting the movement of enslaved Africans and goods.
• Plantation Records: Account books and diaries revealing plantation life and economic operations.
• Government Records: Colonial Office files and legislation outlining the legal framework of slavery.
• Abolition & Post-Abolition Records: Materials on the abolition campaign and records of freed individuals and liberated Africans.

7. British military presence in the Caribbean

Britain maintained a significant military presence in the Caribbean before and after independence. Records held at the National Archives include:

• Locally managed militias
• The West India Regiments
• The Royal Navy
• Records of forts and naval stations

7.1 Military campaigns

For British military operations in the Caribbean, refer to the following research guides:

• British Army Operations up to 1913
• British Army Operations in the Second World War
• Royal Navy operations and correspondence 1660-1914
• Royal Navy operations in the Second World War

7.2 Military–civilian relations

Records documenting the economic, legal, and social interactions between the British armed forces and colonial society can be found in Colonial Office correspondence. Consult section 5.1 for further information on Colonial Office correspondence.

7.3 Search tips

Use the advanced search with department codes and relevant keywords to locate military-related records:

Department codes:

• • WO – British Army
  • ADM – Royal Navy

Suggested keywords:

• • Military units: West India Regiment, Barbados Volunteer Force
  • Locations: barracks, forts, dockyards
  • Specific sites: Nelson’s Dockyard (Antigua)

7.4 Useful record series

Click on any of the reference codes below to start a keyword search in our catalogue. To narrow your results, try using place names like “Jamaica” or “Barbados.” These records aren’t available online, so once you’ve found something relevant, you’ll need to visit us in person to view it.

• WO 55 – Includes reports on army buildings, land holdings, and engineering projects, 1568-1932.
• ADM 128 – Contains Admiralty correspondence from North America and the West Indies, 1810-1913.
• ADM 106 – Includes records from Royal Naval dockyards in the Caribbean, including Jamaica and St. Lucia, 1650-1837.

8. Visual records

The sections below offer helpful guidance on how to locate visual records of the Caribbean within The National Archives’ collection—including maps, photographs, plans, fortifications, and infrastructure—created and gathered by colonial government departments. A small selection of this material can be accessed online (see section 2.3 for more information).

8.1 Maps and plans

To find maps and plans of the Caribbean, search our catalogue using keywords such as the country name, town, estate, parish, or specific building, combined with terms like “map” or “plan.” For detailed help, see our guide to Overseas Maps and Plans.

Click on any of the reference codes below to start a keyword search in our online catalogue. To narrow your results, try using place names like “British Guiana” or “Trinidad.” These records aren’t available online—you’ll need to visit us to view them.

• FO 925: Maps, plans, and atlases accumulated by the Foreign Office, 1700-1944.

• CO 700: First part of the Colonial Office “old collection” of maps and plans of former colonial territories, 1595-1927.

• CO 1047: Second part of the Colonial Office “old collection” of maps and plans of former colonial territories, 1779-1947.

• CO 1054: Colonial Office and its successor maps and plans, post-1940.

8.2 Photographs

Photographs of the Caribbean can be found throughout The National Archives’ collections. A small selection is available to view online (see section 2.3 for more information). However, most of our photograph collections are not digitised and must be consulted in person.

To search the online catalogue, use keywords such as “photograph AND Barbados.” For tips on advanced search techniques, see section 3.1 and our guide to researching photographs.

Click on any of the series codes below to open a keyword search in our online catalogue. To narrow your results, try adding a place name like “Bermuda” or “Trinidad.” Once you find a file you’re interested in, you’ll need to visit us in person to view it.

• CO 1069: Colonial Office photographic collection, 1815-1986.

• INF 10: British Empire Collection of Photographs, 1945-1965.

• COPY 1: Photographs registered for copyright protection with the Stationer’s Company, 1837-1912.

8.3 Film records

The British Film Institute (BFI) holds the archive collection of films commissioned by the British government. The National Archives holds some records relating to the commissioning and production of these government films.

Click on any of the reference codes below to start a keyword search in our catalogue. To narrow your results, try using place names like “Jamaica” or “West Indies.” These records aren’t available online, so once you’ve found something relevant, you’ll need to visit us in person to view it.

• INF 6: Central Office of Information film production documents, 1931–1997.

9. Records held by other archives

To locate local and national archive collections in the Caribbean, use the FamilySearch directory.

For further information on Caribbean-related archives, including catalogue listings for national and specialist archives across the Caribbean, explore this curated selection of books and pamphlets available in The National Archives library.

Community archives created by Caribbean communities in Britain are often held in local and specialist libraries across the UK. These can usually be found through an internet search.

10. Further reading

The National Archives library offers books and pamphlets with catalogue listings and details on Caribbean-related collections held by national and specialist archives across the region. You can browse this selection in our library catalogue.

Mandy Banton, Administering the Empire, 1801-1968: A guide to the records of the Colonial Office in The National Archives of the UK. (University of London and The National Archives, 2015)

University of the West Indies, The Journal of Caribbean history. (Departments of History, University of the West Indies, 1970)

Gad Heuman, The Caribbean: A brief history. (Bloomsbury, 2014)

Appendix. Colonial Office government gazettes and correspondence

The table below is organised by country and lists the catalogue references needed to locate and browse the relevant government gazettes and correspondence. These records are typically arranged by date and are not keyword searchable.

Once you’ve identified a relevant file in the catalogue, you will need to visit us in person to view it. Click on the series references below to browse the record series in the online catalogue by date, hierarchy, or reference (see the top of the page).

Name/ former colonial name	Additional names/terms to be aware of when searching	Government Gazette	Correspondence
Antigua and Barbuda	Antigua and Montserrat Leeward Islands West Indian Department Federation of the West Indies	See Leeward Islands CO 156 before 1967 See Federation of the West Indies DO 136 for 1958-1961 CO 1049 1967-89, 23 Volumes (Antigua)	CO 152, -1689-1816, 1872-1951 CO 7, 1702-1872, 144 Volumes CO 1031, 1948-1967 See Federation of the West Indies after 1958
Bahamas	The Bahamas West Indian Department	CO 564 1894–1965, 32 volumes	CO 23, 1696-1951   CO 1031, 1948-1967
Bay Islands	Ruatan Rattan Jamaica	See Jamaica CO 141	CO 34, 1851-1861
Barbados	Windward Islands West Indian DepartmentFederation of the West Indies	CO 32, 1867-1989, 269 volumes	CO 28, 1689-1873, 1886-1951, 343 volumes   CO 321, 1874-85 CO 1031, 1948-1967 See Federation of the West Indies after 1958
Belize	British Honduras Moskito/Mosquito Coast West Indian Department	CO 127, 1861-1975, 94 volumes	CO 123, 1744-1951, 27 volumes.   CO 1031, 1948-67
Bermuda	Virginia Company Bermuda Company of London Somers Islands West Indian Department	CO 647, 1902-89, 35 volumes	CO 37, 1687-1951 303 volumes   CO 1031, 1948-67
British Virgin Islands	St Croix St Thomas Leeward Islands West Indian Department	CO 156, 1883-1945, 60 volumes	CO 314, 1711-1872   CO 152, – before 1854 and after 1872   CO 1031, after 1951-1967
Cayman Islands	Jamaica West Indian Department Federation of the West Indies	See Jamaica CO 141 before 1956 CO 1019, 1956-90, 67 volumes	CO 137 1670-1951   CO 1031 – 1948-1967 See Federation of the West Indies after 1958
Dominica	Leeward Islands Windward Islands West Indian DepartmentFederation of the West Indies	See Leeward Islands before 1865 CO 75, 1865-1975, 57 volumes	CO 71, 1730-1872   CO 152, 1873-1940   CO 321, 1940-1951   CO 1031, 1948-1967 See Federation of the West Indies after 1958
Federation of the West Indies	Antigua and Barbuda Barbados Dominica Grenada Jamaica St Kitts and Nevis St Vincent Trinidad and Tobago West Indian Federation West Indies Federation	DO 136, 6 volumes, 1958-1961	CO 1031, 1948-1967 DO 200, 1961-1967 FCO 43, 1967-1968
Grenada	Windward Islands West Indian DepartmentFederation of the West Indies	CO 105, 1834-1975, 75 volumes	CO 101, 1747-1873   CO 321, 1874-1951   CO 1031, 1948-1967 See Federation of the West Indies after 1958
Guyana	Berbice Demerara Essequibo British Guiana West Indian Department	CO 115, 1838-1975, 322 volumes	CO 111, 1781-1951   CO 1031, 1948-1967
Jamaica	Bay Islands Cayman Islands Colony of Jamaica West Indian Department Federation of the West Indies	CO 141, 1794-1968, 369 volumes	CO 137, 1689-1951   CO 1031, 1948-1967 See Federation of the West Indies after 1958
Leeward Islands	Antigua Dominica Nevis Montserrat St Christopher (St Kitts) Virgin Islands West Indian Department	1872-1965 60 volumes	CO 152, 1689-1951
Montserrat	Antigua and Montserrat Leeward Islands West Indian Department Federation of the West Indies	See Leeward Islands CO 156 before 1967 CO 1049, 1967–89, 23 volumes	CO 175, 1726-1872   CO 152, 1873-1951   CO 1031, 1948-1967 See Federation of the West Indies after 1958
Saint Kitts, Nevis, and Anguilla	St Christopher Leeward Islands West Indian Department Federation of the West Indies	See Leeward Islands CO 156 before 1879 CO 242, 1879–1989, 53 volumes	CO 239, 1702-1822   CO 152, 1689-1816, 1872-1951   CO 1031, 1948-1967 See Federation of the West Indies after 1958
St Lucia	Windward Islands West Indian Department Federation of the West Indies	CO 257, 1857–1975, 125 volumes	CO 253, 1709-1873   CO 321, 1874- 1951   CO 1031, 1948-1967 See Federation of the West Indies after 1958
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines	Windward IslandsWest Indian Department Federation of the West Indies	CO 264 1831–1975, 82 volumes	CO 260, 1668-1873   CO 321, 1874-1951     CO 1031, 1948-1967 See Federation of the West Indies after 1958
Santo Domingo	Dominican Republic	None	CO 245 1693-1805
Tobago	Trinidad and Tobago Windward Islands Federation of the West Indies	CO 289, 1872–98, 7 volumes See Trinidad CO 299 after 1898	CO 285, 1700-1873 CO 295, 1873-1951 CO 321 1874-1951 CO 1031, 1948-1967 See Federation of the West Indies after 1958
Trinidad	Trinidad and Tobago Windward Islands Federation of the West Indies	CO 299, 1833–1975, 193 volume	CO 295, 1783-1951 CO 321 1874-1951 CO 1031, 1948-1967 See Federation of the West Indies after 1958
Turks and Caicos Islands	Bahamas (Turks) Jamaica (Caicos) West Indian Department Federation of the West Indies	See Jamaica CO 141 after 1907 CO 681, 1907–65, 13 volumes	CO 23, 1799-1848   CO 301, 1848-1882   CO 137, 1874- 1951 CO 1031, 1948-1967 See Federation of the West Indies after 1958
West Indian Department	Covers correspondence from a range of islands/territories from 1948 onwards	See separate islands/territories	CO 1031 1948-1967
Windward Islands	Barbados Dominica Grenada St Lucia St Vincent Tobago West Indian Department	See separate islands/territories	CO 321 1874-1951