How to look for records of... Records of the Independent Inquiry into Child Sexual Abuse (IICSA)

This guide contains very brief details of these records. We will be expanding its content soon.

1. Where to go for further support, if you have been affected by the content of these records/and or the events they describe

Records from the Independent Inquiry into Child Sexual Abuse include content that some people may find distressing. If you have been affected by these records, you can find useful advice on looking after your mental health and wellbeing on the NHS Every Mind Matters website and from the mental health charity Mind.

2. How to access records held at The National Archives

The records of the Independent Inquiry into Child Sexual Abuse can be accessed using The National Archives’ online catalogue. Most of the records are held in digital format and (unless closed to public access) are available online.

The National Archives’ online catalogue will indicate the format of the record. If you need further help using our catalogue, please consult Discovery help.

The Independent Inquiry into Child Sexual Abuse records are catalogued within the following series:

• ICSA 1: contains the archived website of the Inquiry. See the section below for links to the UK Government Web Archive.
• ICSA 2: contains the evidence considered by the Inquiry. Search or browse descriptions in our catalogue.
• ICSA 3: contains the administrative (corporate records) of the Inquiry. Search or browse descriptions in our catalogue.
• ICSA 4: contains the archived Twitter (X) channel of the Inquiry. See the section below for links to the UK Government Web Archive.
• ICSA 5: contains the archived You Tube channel of the Inquiry. See the section below for links to the UK Government Web Archive.
• ICSA 6: contains the Inquiry’s  archived Truth Project Website. See the section below for links to the UK Government Web Archive.
• ICSA 7: contains the archived Twitter (X) channel of the Victim and Survivor Consultative Panel. See the section below for links to the UK Government Web Archive.

3. UK Government Web Archive resources

The UK Government Web Archive at The National Archives holds other Inquiry resources.

• Independent Inquiry into Child Sexual Abuse (IICSA) (https://www.csa-inquiry.independent.gov.uk/) – Website
• Independent Inquiry into Child Sexual Abuse (IICSA) (https://www.iicsa.org.uk/) – Website
• Independent Inquiry into Child Sexual Abuse (IICSA) – Truth Project
• Independent Inquiry into Child Sexual Abuse (IICSA) – Twitter Archive
• Independent Inquiry into Child Sexual Abuse (IICSA) – Victim and Survivor Consultative Panel – Twitter Archive
• Independent Inquiry into Child Sexual Abuse (IICSA) – YouTube Archive

4. Other sources

Material can be found in the archives of both local authorities and private organisations. This may include reports; reviews; briefings; minutes; notes recordings and correspondence in relation to individuals, organisations, institutions, or public bodies. It may also include material relevant to statutory responsibilities for the care of children in public or private care; material relevant to the development of policy on child protection; or material relevant to the development of legislation on child protection.

A directory of UK archive services can be found on The National Archive website: https://discovery.nationalarchives.gov.uk/find-an-archive