How to look for records of... Hospitals

How can I view the records covered in this guide?

View online

How many are online?

  • None
  • Some
  • All

Order copies

We can either copy our records onto paper or deliver them to you digitally

Pay for research

Use our paid search service or find an independent researcher

Visit us

Visit us in Kew to see original documents or view online records for free

´╗┐´╗┐´╗┐´╗┐

This is a brief guide to help you find records of a hospital. Ministry of Health records held at The National Archives are wide-ranging, although not all records survive. Many records of individual hospitals are held in local archives.

What records can I see online?

There are no hospital records available to see online.

What records can I find at The National Archives at Kew?

Records of the Ministry of Health and related bodies (1798-2001)

Browse MH in Discovery, our catalogue, to find records from the Ministry of Health, the Poor Law Commission and other bodies involved in the provision of healthcare from 1798 to the modern day.

To access these records you will either need to visit us, pay for research (£) or, where you can identify a specific record reference, order a copy (£).

What records can I find in other archives and organisations?

Hospital records

Search the Hospital Records Database to locate records relating to specific hospitals held at The National Archives and other archives.

Records held locally

The National Archives’ catalogue has details of collections held by over 2500 archives across the UK. Search our catalogue and refine your results using the filters.

Your results will show whether the records are held at The National Archives or elsewhere. For records held elsewhere you will need to contact the relevant archive directly to find out how to access their collections.

What other resources will help me find information?

Websites

Browse The Long, Long Trail website for information about military hospitals.

The London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine Voluntary Hospitals Database gives access to statistical data on beds, patients, income and expenditure from voluntary hospitals in Britain and Ireland between the 1890s and 1940s.

Did you know?

The Ministry of Health was created in 1919.

Before the National Health Service was established, provision of healthcare was fragmented with no central control, and voluntary hospitals were charitable institutions.

The National Health Service was established in 1948.