How to look for records of... Births, marriages and deaths in the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man

How can I view the records covered in this guide?

View online

How many are online?

  • None
  • Some
  • All

Order copies

We can either copy our records onto paper or deliver them to you digitally

Pay for research

Use our paid search service or find an independent researcher

Visit us

Visit us in Kew to see original documents or view online records for free

This is a brief guide to help you with your research. Records of births, marriages and deaths in the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man are kept in various places but not at The National Archives. This guide will help you to find out if the records you are looking for exist and, if so, where to find them, or more information about them.

What do I need to know before I start?

Try to find out:

  • the person’s name (and name of their parents, spouse or next of kin, where applicable)
  • the approximate date of the birth, marriage or death
  • the person’s religious denomination

What records can I see online?

There are no birth, marriage or death records for the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man available to see online.

What records can I find at The National Archives at Kew?

The National Archives does not hold any birth certificates or parish baptism records for the Channel Islands or the Isle of Man.

What records can I find in other archives and organisations?

Channel Islands: Civil and parish registers

Visit the Priaulx Library for civil records for Guernsey from 1840, Alderney from 1850, and for parish registers for the Bailiwick of Guernsey (c1570-present), and the Jersey Heritage Research Centre for indexes to civil and parish registers for Jersey.

Isle of Man: Civil and parish registers

Visit the Manx National Heritage Library & Archive Service for parish registers (c1607-1878) or contact the Douglas Civil Registry Office for civil registers from 1878.

Alternatively, search the FamilySearch catalogue for microfilm copies of records for the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man, which can be ordered for viewing at FamilySearch Centres worldwide.

What other resources will help me find information?


Search birth, marriage and death indexes for the Isle of Man up to 1979 at

Search the FamilySearch website for Channel Islands births and baptisms 1820-1907; Isle of Man births and baptisms 1821-1911, marriages 1849-1911, deaths and burials 1844-1911 and parish registers 1598-1950.


Search The National Archives’ bookshop to see whether any of the publications below may be available to buy. Alternatively, look in The National Archives’ library catalogue to see what is available to consult at Kew.

Audrey Collins and David Annal, Birth, marriage and death records (Pen and Sword, 2012)

Marie-Louise Backhurst, Tracing your Channel Islands ancestors (Pen and Sword, 2011)

Did you know?

The Channel Islands and the Isle of Man are not part of the United Kingdom, but are dependencies under the Crown. They have their own currencies and legal systems, but come under the jurisdiction of the Registrar General of England and Wales for census purposes.

Civil registration began at different times on each of the Channel Islands; Guernsey in 1840, Jersey in 1842, Alderney in 1850 and Sark in 1915. Registration began on the Isle of Man in 1849, but was not compulsory until 1878 (1884 for marriages).

The Bailiwick of Guernsey also includes the islands of Alderney, Sark, Herm, Brecqhou, Jethou and Lihou.