January 1, 1981 January 5, 1981 September 14, 1981
Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher Margaret Thatcher Margaret Thatcher
Foreign Secretary Lord Carrington Lord Carrington Lord Carrington
Chancellor of the Exchequer Sir Geoffrey Howe Sir Geoffrey Howe Sir Geoffrey Howe
Lord Chancellor Lord Hailsham of St Marylebone Lord Hailsham of St Marylebone Lord Hailsham of St Marylebone
Home Secretary William Whitelaw William Whitelaw William Whitelaw
Secretary of State for Health and Social Security Patrick Jenkin Patrick Jenkin Norman Fowler
Secretary of State for Defence Francis Pym John Nott John Nott
Secretary of State for Scotland George Younger George Younger George Younger
Secretary of State for Employment James Prior James Prior Norman Tebbit
Secretary of State for Education and Science Mark Carlisle Mark Carlisle Sir Keith Joseph
Secretary of State for Wales Nicholas Edwards Nicholas Edwards Nicholas Edwards
Secretary of State for Trade John Nott John Biffen John Biffen
Secretary of State for Industry Sir Keith Joseph Sir Keith Joseph Patrick Jenkin
Secretary of State for the Environment Michael Heseltine Michael Heseltine Michael Heseltine
Secretary of State for Northern Ireland Humphrey Atkins Humphrey Atkins James Prior
Secretary of State for Energy David Howell David Howell Nigel Lawson
Paymaster-General Angus Maude Francis Pym Cecil Parkinson
Chief Secretary to the Treasury John Biffen Leon Brittan Leon Brittan
Lord President of the Council and Leader of the House of Commons Lord Soames Lord Soames Francis Pym
Lord Privy Seal and Leader of the House of Lords Sir Ian Gilmour Sir Ian Gilmour Humphrey Atkins
Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster Norman St John-Stevas Francis Pym Francis Pym
Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries, and Food Peter Walker Peter Walker Peter Walker
Minister for the Arts Norman St John-Stevas Paul Channon Paul Channon