Role in the Commonwealth

Group photograph of the Commonwealth Heads of Government taken in June 1977. The Queen is pictured in the middle of the photograph. Document reference: CO 1069/874

You can download the full digitised document via Discovery, our online catalogue: Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting


Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting London June 1977 

With Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II are (left to right) Front Row: HE Ngwazi Dr H Kamuzu Banda (President, Malawi) HE Shri Morarji R Desai (Prime Minister, India) The Rt Hon Malcolm Fraser (Prime Minister, Australia) The Hon Michael Manley (Prime Minister, Jamaica) His Beatitude Archbishop Makarios III (President, Cyprus) The Rt Hon James Callaghan (Prime Minister, Britain) HE Dr Kenneth D Kaunda (President, Zambia) HE Major General Ziaur Rahman (President, Bangladesh) The Rt Hon R D Muldoon (Prime Minister, New Zealand) Brigadier Shehu Yaradua (Chief of Staff, Supreme Headquarters, Nigeria) 

Second Row: The Rt Hon Michael T Somare (Prime Minister, Papua New Guinea) HE Dr Siaka P Stevens (President, Sierra Leone) Dr The Rt Hon Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam (Prime Minister, Mauritius) The Rt Hon J M G M Adams (Prime Minister, Barbados) The Rt Hon Sir Eric Gairy (Prime Minister, Grenada) The Hon Aboud Jumble (Vice-President, Tanzania) Lieutenant-General F W K Akuffo (Chief of Defence Staff, Ghana) The Rt Hon Lynden O Pindling (Prime Minister, Bahamas) HRH Prince Fatafehi Tu’ipelehake (Prime Minister, Tonga) 

Back Row: The Hon Tupuola Efi (Prime Minister, Western Samoa) The Hon Datuk Hussein Bin Onn (Prime Minister, Malaysia) The Rt Hon Ratu Sir Kamisese Mara (Prime Minister, Fiji) The Hon Dr Leabua Jonathan (Prime Minister, Lesotho) The Hon Daniel Arap Moi (Vice-President, Kenya) The Hon Lee Kuan Yew (Prime Minister, Singapore) The Hon Felix R D Bandaranaike (Minister of Finance, Sri Lanka) The Hon F R Wills (Minister of Foreign Affairs, Guyana) HE The Rt Hon Colonel Maphevu Dlamini (Prime Minister, Swaziland) Senator The Hon John Donaldson (Minister of External Affairs, Trinidad and Tobago) HE Alhaji Sir Dawda Kairaba Jawara (President, The Gambia) HE Sir Seretse Khama (President, Botswana) The Rt Hon Pierre E Trudeau (Prime Minister, Canada) 

Return to Queen Elizabeth II – document highlights