Robert (Bob) Barr

Throughout his career, Bob Barr has worked with public sector information as an academic, commercial developer, and recently as an elected local government member. He has worked primarily as a specialist on geospatial information, but has a broad knowledge of Public Sector Information (PSI) and the economic debates surrounding it. Bob has a very tangible enthusiasm for PSI, and is persuasive in communicating his creative ideas for its development.

Keith Dugmore

Keith Dugmore is Director of Demographic Decisions, a consultancy advising on the use of demographic data, and also founded the Demographics User Group (which represents large commercial users of public data to Government). He previously held a number of directorships and managerial posts in the private and public sectors. He is a Fellow and former Council Member of the Royal Statistical Society, has chaired its Statistics User Forum, and is an invited member of various Economic and Social Research Council advisory committees. His appointment is as an expert member in statistics.

Paul Longley

Professor Paul Longley is an academic specialising in the exploitation of geospatial information, and has been working at University College London since 2000. He is authoritative and passionate about his involvement in developing a wide range of PSI applications and is very familiar with academic developments in the area worldwide. He has a comprehensive technical knowledge of PSI and has worked on innovative projects within a variety of sectors including education, health and policing.

Duncan Macniven CBE

Duncan Macniven, representative member for Scotland, has 25 years experience in the Senior Civil Service in Scotland, and was Registrar General for Scotland between 2003 and 2011. As Registrar General, he was responsible for running the 2011 Census in Scotland, publishing demographic statistics about Scotland, and providing a wide range of family history information online. He represented Scottish public bodies in initiating and overseeing the One Scotland Mapping Agreement with Ordnance Survey. He has an MA and MLitt in History from Aberdeen University and honorary degrees of LLD from Robert Gordon University and Aberdeen University. He was awarded the CBE in 2012.

Hugh Neffendorf

Hugh Neffendorf, representative member for the developer community, has a broad strategic and technical knowledge of PSI, gained from his extensive and long-standing consultancy work advising on PSI and developing PSI products with a variety of public and private sector organisations. He has particular knowledge of official statistics, derived and modelled data, geospatial information, addressing and the transport sector, as well as a clear grasp of the commercial issues surrounding PSI, and provides advice on the potential development of PSI and modern operational delivery. He is also familiar with commercial sources of information and their relationship with PSI. Hugh manages the independent consultancy Katalysis and is also a Visiting Professor in Geography at the University of Southampton.

Hilary Newiss

Hilary Newiss was a partner and Head of Intellectual Property at a city firm of solicitors. Since leaving the city she has concentrated on public service and policy in the Intellectual Property, health/science and technology fields. She has served on the Human Genetics Commissions for six years and the Intellectual Property Advisory Committee. Currently she is a trustee of the Roslin Foundation, Charleston and a member of the National Information Governance Board for Health and Social Care.

Michael Nicholson

Michael Nicholson BSc(Hons) FRICS, is Managing Director of Intelligent Addressing Ltd; Deputy Chair of the PSI Alliance; former Chair of the Locus Association, a body of private sector companies concerned by the re-use of PSI.

Shane O'Neill

Dr Shane O'Neill is founder of a leading Public Sector Information strategic consultancy business (Shane O'Neill Associates). Shane's career has focussed on information publishing in many different vertical markets. He has held Board appointments in the UK, USA, Germany and Australia, bringing a wide and varied perspective to PSI related matters. Shane is chairman of ELGIN, a private sector company dedicated to the opening up of local transport data and which manages, the national roadworks portal. 

Patricia Seex

Patricia is a development economist specialising in understanding when markets work, when markets fail and government intervention to address market failure. She has worked with the UK Department for International Development (DFID), the World Bank in Washington DC, and previously with the Institute for Public Policy Research in London, for the Mayor for London with GLA Economics, and for economic consultants PACEC.


Phillip Webb was Chief Executive of the Police Information Technology Organisation (PITO) from 2001 until his retirement in March 2007. Phillip is a Fellow of the British Computer Society (BCS), Chartered IT Professional, Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and a Freeman of the Worshipful Company of Information Technologists. He continues to enjoy regular lecturing engagements and has published and spoken extensively on ICT, Knowledge Exploitation and Risk Management.

Dean White

Dean White has 18 years experience working in NHS information policy and practice on a national level, the last 12 of which have been at the NHS Information Centre. Dean has an up-to-date awareness of current PSI legislative and policy developments, and strong experience at work at the interface between open data and commercial exploitation of PSI in the health domain - an area of rapid development.

Past members

  • Neil Ackroyd, representative member of trading funds, 2008-2014
  • Michael Allen, representative member of Wales, 2004-2008
  • Toby Bainton, representative member of the library and university community, 2003-2005
  • Professor Mike Batty, expert member in geospatial information, 2003-2009
  • Stefan Carlyle, representative member in information producers, 2003-2009
  • Michael Clark, expert member in geospatial information, 2003-2007
  • Christopher Corbin, expert member in European PSI, 2007-2010
  • J Eric Davies, representative member of the library and university community, 2007-2010  
  • Roger Dixon, representative member for Northern Ireland, 2003-2005
  • Trevor Fenwick, expert member in statistical information, 2003-2008
  • Christine Gifford, representative member of the information management community, 2005-2010
  • Jon Gray, expert member in digital content, 2007-2010
  • Dick Greener, expert member in Intellectual Property law, 2003-2005
  • Stephen King, representative member of RNIB, 2003-2005
  • Michael Jennings, representative member of local government, 2009-2015
  • David Lammey, representative member for Northern Ireland, 2009-2015
  • Hector MacQueen, representative member for Scotland, 2004-2011
  • Bill Oates, representative member for Wales, 2009-2015 
  • John Ponting expert member in public sector information, 2003-2011
  • Avinash D. Persaud, expert member in economics, 2005-2008
  • Howard Picton, expert member of the library and information community, 2003-2005
  • David Rhind, Chair of APPSI, 2008-2015 
  • Christopher Roper, expert member of geospatial information, 2003-2008
  • Chris Sellers, representative member of end-users, 2005-2007
  • Duncan Shiell MA, MSc, MBA, FRICS, representative member of trading funds, 2003-2007
  • Richard Susskind, Chair of APPSI, 2003-2008
  • John Thornton, representative of local government, 2004-2008
  • David Worlock, representative member, Digital Information Publishers, 2003-2008
  • David Young, representative member of Universities UK, 2003-2005

Previous members

Details of previous APPSI members can be found on the UK Government Web Archive.