The National Archives
Search The National Archives
Advanced search
The National Archives Logo
Guide reference: Military Records Information 79
Last updated: 27 August 2010

1. Service records and confidential reports

Naval officers' service records are mainly in ADM 196 and a selection of pieces are available to download. Access is free on site at The National Archives.

There is a main series for executive officers, and another for warrant officers. A service record usually gives:

  • date of birth (occasionally place of birth)
  • wife's name, and date and place of marriage
  • name and profession of father (address sometimes given)
  • dates of commission and promotions
  • details of rewards, distinctions and examinations taken
  • date of appointment and discharge from each named ship
  • dates of retirement and death

There are several series of summaries of confidential reports: these give commanding officers' (often brutally candid) opinions of individuals' suitability for promotion.

2. Indexes: some and none

Unfortunately, there is no overall name index to these records. Some volumes include an index: others have separate index volumes. If there are no name indexes, you will have to search the service records by date. To do this, you will need to find out either when the officer joined the navy, or his date of seniority or promotion to a particular rank. These dates can be found in the Navy List, in the alphabetical list of officers, or the seniority lists.

3. Executive officers: service records

Cadets, Midshipmen, Mates, Sub-Lieutenants, Lieutenant Commanders, Lieutenants, Commanders, Captains, Admirals

This main series of service records provides details of an officer's entire career from Midshipman up. It cross refers to earlier series in ADM 196/36-56.

There are no name indexes: you need to get the date of attaining rank of Midshipman from the Navy List.

Date created Midshipman Catalogue reference
1912 May 15 - 1913 Jan 15 ADM 196/117
1913 May 15 - 1914 Jan15 ADM 196/118
1914 May 15 - 1914 Aug 2 ADM 196/119
1914 Aug 2 ADM 196/120
1914 Aug 2 ADM 196/121
1914 Aug 2 - 1915 Sept 8 ADM 196/122
1916 Jan 1 - 1916 July 17 ADM 196/123
1917 Jan 1 - 1917 May 1 ADM 196/124

4. Engineer officers

Entry as probationary Assistant Engineer Catalogue reference Additional information
1893 July 14 - 1905 Feb 1 ADM 196/130 includes name index
1905 July 4 - 1917 Aug 7 ADM 196/131 includes name index
1917 Aug 14 - 1918 Nov 18 ADM 196/132 includes name index
Entry as Assistant Engineer Temporary Engineers Catalogue reference Additional information
1878 May 22 - 19152 Jan 22 ADM 196/133 no index
Appt. as Acting Artificer Engineer Catalogue reference Additional information
1911 Mar 31 - 1914 Sept 10 ADM 196/134 includes name index
1914 Sept 10 - 1918 Mar 1 ADM 196/135 includes name index
1918 Apr 4 - 1928 Mar 28 ADM 196/136 includes name index

5. Executive officers: summaries of confidential reports

5.1 Acting Mates and Mates

Confidential reports on Acting Mates and Mates promoted to Lieutenant, and recording service as far as Lieutenant Commander.

Date of becoming Acting Mate Catalogue reference Additional information
1913 Feb 14 - 1929 Dec 1 ADM 196/154 includes name index
1930 Dec 1 ADM 196/155 includes name index

5.2 Lieutenants and Sub Lieutenants

Date of Entry Catalogue reference Old ref. Indexed by +
1885 Jul 15 - 1892 Dec 5

ADM 196/141

B

ADM 196/138

1891 Jul 15 - 1897 Jan 15 *

ADM 196/142

C

ADM 196/138

1897 Jan 15 - 1902 Jan 15 *

ADM 196/143

D

ADM 196/139

1902 Jan 15 - 1918 Dec 31

ADM 196/144

E

ADM 196/139

1903 Sept 15 - 1908 Jan 15

ADM 196/145

F

ADM 196/139

1908 May 15 - 1911 Sept

ADM 196/146

G

ADM 196/139

1911 Sept - 1914 Jan 15 **

ADM 196/147

H

ADM 196/139

1914 Jan 15 - 1919 Apr 11

ADM 196/148

I

ADM 196/139

1916 May 15 -1920 May 15

ADM 196/149

J

ADM 196/139

1920 May 15 - 1924 Jan 15

ADM 196/150

K

ADM 196/139

1924 Sept 15 - 1928 Aug 25

ADM 196/151

L

ADM 196/139

+ A sample index entry: Charles D Rickett volume 'B' 80. Convert the letter to a new reference using the table above.

* Further service details for Lieutenants promoted 1895-1898 are in ADM 196/137. This contains a name index.

** For supplementary Lieutenants and Sub- Lieutenants, promoted 1913 Jan -1914 June, see ADM 196/152. This contains a name index.

5.3 Commanders

Promoted to Commander Catalogue reference Additional information
1908 Dec 31 - 1915 Dec 26 ADM 196/125 includes name index
1915 Dec 31 - 1919 Jun 30 ADM 196/126 includes name index
1919 Dec 31 - 1928 Dec 31 ADM 196/127 includes name index
1929 Jun 30 - 1931 Jun 30 ADM 196/128 includes name index

There is also a union index to these four volumes in ADM 196/129. A typical entry would be John Cresswell 1929, page 21. Check the date given against the above table.

5.4 Admirals and Captains

Promoted to Captain Catalogue reference Additional information
1893-1895 ADM 196/86 includes name index
1894-1902 ADM 196/87 includes name index
1902-1907 ADM 196/88 includes name index
1907-1914 ADM 196/89 includes name index
1914-1918 ADM 196/90 includes name index
1918-1926 ADM 196/91 includes name index
1926-1935 ADM 196/92 includes name index
1935-1941 ADM 196/93 includes name index
1941-1943 ADM 196/94 includes name index

6. Warrant Officers: service records (and Gunners' confidential reports)

Boatswains, Carpenters, Gunners, Gunners (T), Instructors in Cookery,

Signal Boatswains, Warrant Armourers, Warrant Electricians, Warrant Shipwrights, Warrant Stewards, Warrant Telegraphists, Warrant Writers

The main series of service records. It cross-refers to earlier series in ADM 196/34-35

Date of rank Catalogue reference Old ref. Indexed by
1903-1915 ADM 196/156 Volume 2 ADM 196/163
1915-1916 ADM 196/157 Volume 3 ADM 196/163
1916-1917 ADM 196/158 Volume 4 ADM 196/163
1895-1922 ADM 196/159 Volume 5 ADM 196/163
1922-1926 ADM 196/160 - -
1926-1931 ADM 196/161 - -

A sample index entry: J Bellis, Gunner, Volume 2, p 13, refers to ADM 195/156 p 13.

Service records of warrant officers promoted to Lieutenant during 1918 Jan - 1931 June are in ADM 196/153. This contains a name index.

7. Gunners

  Date of seniority Catalogue reference Additional Information
Service records 1901 Mar 30 - 1914 June ADM 196/164 has name index
Service records 1918 Aug - 1918 Sept ADM 196/165 has name index
Confidential reports 1900-1912 ADM 196/166 has name index

8. Paymasters: service records and confidential reports

8.1 Assistant Clerks, Paymaster Cadets and Paymasters

  Date of seniority Catalogue reference
Date of entry
Service record 1889-1910 ADM 196/171 (includes name index)
Service record 1886-1902 ADM 196/172 (includes name index)
Service record 1911-1920 ADM 196/174 (includes name index)
Confidential reports 1884-1939 ADM 196/173, ADM 196/175-176.

9. Schoolmasters and surgeons: service records

9.1 Schoolmasters

Service records of Schoolmasters who joined the Navy 1919-1926 are in ADM 196/177.

9.2 Surgeons

Date of seniority Catalogue reference Additional Information
Date of seniority
1891 Nov 11 -1898 Nov 8 ADM 104/166 no index
1898 Nov 8 - 1904 May 23 ADM 104/167 no index
1904 Nov 21 - 1914 Apr 3 ADM 104/168 no index
1914 Jan - 1926 Dec Includes Short Service Surgeons ADM 104/169 no index
1914 -1919 Temporary Surgeons only ADM 104/170 includes name index

10. No trace of a service record?

It is possible to establish the basic outline of an officer's career by searching the Navy List. Also, it may be worth searching other parts of ADM 196, and ADM 29/105-131, for references to other service records for executive and warrant officers who served during the First World War, particularly those who joined the navy towards the end of the nineteenth century.

11. Service records after the First World War

The service records and confidential reports detailed here do include details of officers who continued serving even beyond the Second World War. However, we do not as yet have service records for:

  • executive officers whose service began after May 1917
  • warrant officers whose service began after 1931

Service records after these dates are closed, but information can be provided by the Ministry of Defence to officers, or to their next of kin (for a fee). For officers who have died, contact:

The Directorate of Personnel Support (Navy)
Navy Search
TNT Archive Services
Tetron Point
William Nadin Way
Swadlincote
Derbyshire
DE11 0BB
Tel: 01283 227 910/911/912/913
Fax: 01283 227 942
Email: navysearchpgrc@tnt.co.uk

For officers who are still living, contact:

Data Protection Cell (Navy)
Building 1/152
HM Naval Base Portsmouth
Victory View
Portsmouth
PO1 3PX
Tel: 02392 727 381/723 114/720 014/727 470/727 531
Fax: 02392 725 829

Guide reference: Military Records Information 79 | Last updated: 27 August 2010

The Catalogue

Search descriptions of 11 million documents from the UK central government, law courts and other national bodies.

  • Download this guide as a PDF