1. Introduction
The Royal Navy Volunteer Reserve (RNVR) was founded in 1903. It was composed of volunteers from all walks of life - except maritime tradesmen who formed the Royal Naval Reserve. Volunteers joined agreeing to serve either on shore or at sea as required.
Men of the RNVR served in a variety of roles, and not only on ships. In 1914 some went to sea but most, together with the reservists from the Royal Naval Reserve and the Royal Fleet Reserve, were formed into the Royal Naval Division (63rd Division) who fought with the army on the Western Front.
In 1958, the Royal Naval Volunteer Reserve (RNVR) was amalgamated with the Royal Naval Reserve (RNR).
2. RNVR officers' records
2.1 The Navy List
RNVR officers were first included in the Navy List in September 1903. The official Navy List, published from 1814, contains much information of value to the naval historian and genealogist alike. During the two world wars much of the usual information was omitted from the published editions of the Navy List and confined to confidential editions for service use only. This series Confidential Navy Lists (ADM 177) together with a complete set of published Navy Lists can be found in the reading rooms at The National Archives.
2.2 Service records up to 1922
Service records of RNVR officers can be found in two series: ADM 337 and ADM 340. The records in ADM 337/117-128 covering the period up to 1922 have been digitised and are available to search and download.
The records in ADM 340, which generally cover the inter-war and Second World War period, include files and record-of-service cards detailing the service of officers in the RNVR (in addition to the Royal Navy itself and the Royal Naval Reserve).
ADM 340 was introduced early in the twentieth century for all officers then serving and brought in the concept of a single continuous record spanning the length of the officer's service. Some records in this series therefore detail service dating back to c.1880 (and possibly earlier in a few cases) through both World Wars and into the 1950s. Duplicated and additional information on many of the officers whose records appear in this series will therefore be found in ADM 337 as well.
2.3 Service records 1923-1958
These records are held by Navy Search, TNT Archives Services, Tetron Point, William Nadine Way, Swadlincote, Derbyshire DE11 0PB (telephone: 01283 227913; email: navysearchpgrc@tnt.co.uk)
2.4 Service records after 1958
In 1958, the RNVR was amalgamated with the Royal Naval Reserve (RNR) to form the present RNR.
3. RNVR ratings' service records
3.1 Service records 1903-1919
Service records for men who served in the RNVR are found in ADM 337/1-108. These records are available to search and download. Details of RNVR ratings' First World War campaign medal entitlement can be found in ADM 171/125-129 which also provide service numbers.
Understanding the Service Numbers:
Each RNVR Division had its own 'distinguishing letter' - a letter placed before the service number of its men. For details, see the table below. Service numbers varied over time.
Men who joined the RNVR before the outbreak of the First World War, would probably have joined a specific company within a given Division. A service number may indicate both the Division and the company.
for example: S3/114 = Sussex Division, Number 3 Company, Number 114
If your man has such a number, then begin your search with the 'company' documents. To identify these, go to the list of ADM 337. The references for company documents are listed immediately under the title of the relevant Division.
A man who joined a division after the outbreak of the First World War may have been given a service number that included a Z. The Z usually appeared after the letter indicating the Division.
The service numbers of men who served in the Anti-Aircraft Division (AA) may also be found with the further prefix L, for example, L/AA 3446.
Identifying the Division from the Service Number:
| Letter | Division | Volumes | Index |
|---|---|---|---|
| AA | Anti-Aircraft | ADM 337/93-94 ; ADM 188/1155-1177 | |
| B or BZ | Bristol Division | ADM 337/1-18 | - |
| C or CZ | Clyde Division | ADM 337/19-32 | - |
| E | Birmingham Electrical Volunteers | ADM 337/95 | - |
| KP, KW, KX | Crystal Palace (entered from Kitchener's Army | Try the Fleet Air Arm Museum | - |
| L or LZ | London Division | ADM 337/33-48 | - |
| M or MZ | Mersey Division | ADM 337/49-61 | - |
| MB | Motor Boat Section | ADM 337/96-99 |
ADM 188/1155-1177 |
| MC | Mine Clearance Service | ADM 337/101-108 | |
| PZ | Crystal Palace (entered from civilian life or from the Royal Navy) | ADM 337/62-67 | - |
| R | Royal Naval Division | Try the Fleet Air Arm Museum | - |
| S or St | Sussex Division | ADM 337/68-69 | - |
| SWS | Shore Wireless Service | Try the Fleet Air Arm Museum | - |
| T or TZ | Tyne Division | ADM 337/70-84 | - |
| WZ | Wales Division | ADM 337/85-91 | - |
| Y | On occasion a Y number is found. These numbers seem to have been allocated when men volunteered, to be replaced by a service number when they were called up. If only a Y number is found, the implication is that the man did not actually serve. | ||
3.2 Service records 1920-1958
These records are held by Navy Search, TNT Archives Services, Tetron Point, William Nadine Way, Swadlincote, Derbyshire DE11 0PB (telephone: 01283 227913, email: navysearchpgrc@tnt.co.uk).
3.3 Service records after 1958
In 1958, the RNVR was amalgamated with the Royal Naval Reserve (RNR) to form the present RNR.
4. RNVR divisional records
Most divisional records have been destroyed. For 1904-1939, there is a small sample in ADM 900/75-86.
5. Medals
5.1 World War One campaign medals
The medal rolls for both RNVR officers (ADM 171/89-91) and RNVR ratings (ADM 171/125-129) are arranged alphabetically by name. In the case of ratings, they also provide each man's service number. This is essential for locating a rating's service record.
5.2 The Long Service and Good Conduct Medal
Men who served in the RNVR were awarded the Long Service and Good Conduct Medal for 12 years' service (with wartime service counting double). The medal roll for the period 1909-1949 can be found in ADM 171/70-72. This roll is useful as it can provide the following information: official number, RNVR number, number of medal, rank or rating, Royal Navy or Royal Marine, date medal issued and to whom.
6. Fleet Air Arm Museum
The Fleet Air Arm Museum holds Engagement Papers (the contract). For some Divisions, this is all you can expect to find. Other Divisions sometimes have gaps in the run of service records. If you cannot find a record of service, write to the Fleet Air Museum, RNAS Yeovilton, Somerset, BA22 8HT.
7. Mine Clearance Service (MCS)
The Mine Clearance Service (MCS) was created at the end of the First World War to clear all sea mines, both British and German. The men came from all branches of the Royal Navy, not just from the RNVR, but the MCS was administered by the RNVR.
The records of service are listed by MCS number. However, the index in ADM 337/100 gives the old Royal Navy Service Number without any cross reference. The Medal Roll Index is of no use in finding out an MCS service number as the Mine Clearance Service was a post war creation and its members did not receive campaign medals for service in the MCS. At present, it is very difficult to locate an MCS record of service unless you know the number from a private source.
8. Records not held at The National Archives
The Fleet Air Arm Museum does not hold service records for the RNVR. It does, however, hold an extensive series of nearly 100 First World War pay and appointing ledgers for officers of the RNVR, RNR and RNAS. These can offer useful information on pay movements (including tax bills and probate) to complement the officers' records held at The National Archives.
The National Maritime Museum does not hold the official records of the Royal Navy. It does, however, have an extensive collections of books, photographs, paintings, prints, drawings and manuscripts dealing with most aspects of the Royal Navy and some of the Royal Naval Volunteer Reserve.
9. Further reading
The following recommended publications are available in The National Archives' Library.
K J Douglas-Morris, Naval long service medals (The Naval & Military Press, 1991)
Bruno Pappalardo, Tracing your naval ancestors (Public Record Office, 2003)
Bruno Pappalardo, Using navy records (Public Record Office, 2001)
N A M Rodger, Naval records for genealogists (H.M.S.O., 1998)
Guide to the naval records in The National Archives of the UK, ed N A M Rodger & Randolph Cock (University of London, Institute of Historical Research, 2006)

