The National Archives
Search The National Archives
Advanced search
The National Archives Logo
Guide reference: Domestic Records Information 48
Last updated: 8 September 2008

1. Introduction

Britain and France declared war on Germany on 3 September 1939. With the fall of France in 1940, Britain stood alone, until the United States and the Soviet Union joined her as allies in 1941. The war in Europe came to an end with the Allied victory declared on 8 May 1945.

2. Civil defence

War time air raids brought death, destruction and disruption. 60,595 civilians died as a result of enemy action in the United Kingdom. Streets were subject to lighting restrictions - the blackout. Volunteers needed to be trained in civil defence duties. These included fire-fighting, first aid and ambulance driving. Civilians were instructed in how to protect themselves against poison gas attack and issued with gas masks, which they were encouraged to carry on all journeys.

Policy papers on civil defence may be found among records of the Cabinet Office (CAB), General Register Office (RG), Home Office (HO), Ministry of Health (MH), Ministry of Home Security (HO), and Ministry of Labour (LAB) among others. Ministry of Home Security records in HO 186-208 include files relating to air raid precautions and bomb census survey maps, plans and reports.

The Imperial War Museum has some private papers, journals, reminiscences and examples of personal documentation of civil defence personnel, including Air Raid Wardens and Home Guard.

3. The Home Guard

The Home Guard (originally called the Local Defence Volunteers) was set up in May 1940 to defend the Home Front and to assist in the repelling of any invasion. The Home Guard was never tested by an invasion and it operated under inevitable constraints. However, it made an important contribution to the defence of the British Isles. The Home Guard was instructed to "stand down" at the end of 1944. Information from Home Guard personal records and enrolment forms are only available to those who served, or to next of kin, from Army Personnel Centre, Historic Disclosures, Mailpoint 400, Kentigern House, 65 Brown Street, Glasgow, G2 8EX, telephone 0845 600 9663. Records of local proceedings are kept in some local record offices. Policy papers relating to the Home Guard may be found in The National Archives among the following series:

Cabinet Office Historical Section Files (Archivist and Librarian Series) CAB 106
Ministry of Defence Secretariat Files CAB 120
Ministry of Home Security Air Raid Precautions Registered Files 1931-1957 HO 186
Intelligence Branch Registered Files 1939-1950 HO 199
Prime Minister's Office Operational Papers PREM 3
War Office Registered Papers WO 32 Code 66
Reports and Miscellaneous Papers WO 33
War Office Council and Army Council Records WO 163
War Diaries Home Forces 1939-1945 WO 166
Military Head Quarters Papers Home Forces 1939-1945 WO 199
Periodicals Southern Region Home Guard 1941-1945 ZPER 96

4. Evacuation of women and children

For a useful introduction, see We think you ought to go - the evacuation of London's children, by R Samways (London Metropolitan Archives, 1995). The London Metropolitan Archives has an information leaflet, 'The Evacuation of Children from the County of London During the Second World War 1939-1945', with details of their holdings.

Evacuation plans had been in preparation well before the outbreak of war. Small scale evacuations of women and children were carried out at the height of the Munich Crisis in September 1938 but the real evacuation began in September 1939. The government had planned to evacuate about 3,500,000 people but in fact only 1,500,000 made use of the official scheme. Almost all had been evacuated from the danger areas to the reception areas by the evening of 3 September, a few hours after the official declaration of war. The National Archives does not hold any personal files relating to evacuees. For policy papers relating to evacuation, check the following series:

Cabinet Office War Cabinet Minutes CAB 65
War Cabinet Memoranda WP and CP series CAB 66
War Cabinet Memoranda WP(G) Series CAB 67
War Cabinet Memoranda WP(R) Series (includes regular reports from certain government departments e.g. Ministry of Home Security) CAB 68
War Cabinet Committee in Civil Defence CAB 73
War Cabinet Daily Situation Reports CAB 100
Official War Histories (1939-1945): Civil CAB 102
Dominions Office Children's Overseas Reception Board DO 131
Home Office Registered Files HO 45
Circulars HO 158
Ministry of Education General Education, General Files ED 10
Elementary Education, General Files ED 11
Establishment Files ED 23
Special Services, General Files ED 50
War of 1939-1945, Misc., General Files ED 134
Private Office Papers, Series II ED 136
Special Services: School Health Services: LEA Files ED 137
History of Education in the War 1939-1945 ED 138
Ministry of Health Special Wartime Functions HLG 7
100,000 Series Files HLG 68
Circulars MH 10
Emergency Medical Services MH 76
100,000 Series Files MH 79
Ministry of Information Social Survey Reports and Papers RG 23
Social Survey Registered Files RG 40
Files of Correspondence INF 1
Ministry of Home Security Air Raid Precautions HO 186
Intelligence Branch HO 199
Home Security War Room Daily Reports HO 202
Regional Circulars HO 204
Regional Commissioners' Registered Files HO 207
Air Raid Precautions and Home Security Circulars HO 208

5. Rationing

In 1941, rationing was introduced in Britain as a war measure. The ration book was issued for every man, woman and child, ensuring a fair distribution of what meagre essentials were available. Clothes rationing ended in 1949, see BT 64 for information on the rationing of clothes and other manufactured goods. Food continued to be rationed until 1954 when meat at last came off the ration - nine years after the war ended. Sample ration books can be found in BT 131/40. Policy relating to food rationing together with general advice and recommendations on diets issued by the Ministry of Food are in MAF 102, MAF 152, MAF 156 and MAF 313. Related papers on food rationing and the Special Diets Advisory Council are in FD 1.

6. Propaganda

The British government realised during the 1930s the effective use made by the Nazis of the German press, radio, exhibitions, posters, theatre and cinema. The Ministry of Information was set up on 5 September 1939 to cover News and Press Censorship, Home Publicity, and Overseas Publicity in Allied and Neutral Countries. A selection of photographs of postcards to boost morale at home is in CN 11. A similar collection of posters, booklets and research guides produced by the Ministry of Information is in INF 2, INF 3 and INF 13. Related correspondence may be found in INF 1. HO 262 include reports by committees of the Home Intelligence Division on morale during the war. See J D Cantwell, Images of war: British posters 1939-1945, (London 1989).

7. Women's Land Army

The original service records of the Women's Land Army have not survived. However, the index cards to them have survived and are available at The National Archives on microfiche in series MAF 421 . The cards do give a certain amount of information on the individual's service and they cover the period 1939-1948. There are a total of 808 fiche, the final sheet being a compilation of mis-sorts. No further additions to this series are expected.

8. National Fire Service

Service records for National Fire Service personnel have not survived.

9. Civilian gallantry awards

For the period 1940-1948 gallantry awards to civilians can be found in WO 373/66 to WO 373/70 and these include awards of the George Cross, George Medal, Order of the British Empire, British Empire Medal and the King's/Queen's Commendation for Brave Conduct.

 

Guide reference: Domestic Records Information 48 | Last updated: 8 September 2008

The Catalogue

Search descriptions of 11 million documents from the UK central government, law courts and other national bodies.

  • Download this guide as a PDF