The National Archives
Search The National Archives
Advanced search
The National Archives Logo
Guide reference: Military Records Information 74
Last updated: 10 December 2009

1. General

During the First World War, the government co-ordinated and encouraged the employment of women. Work previously undertaken by voluntary organisations came under government control. The co-ordination and central organisation involved a number of government departments such as the Ministry of Labour, Board of Trade, Ministry of Munitions, Ministry of National Service, and the War Office.

Towards the end of 1916 the government began organising women's auxiliary military services, to replace men in non-combatant roles and so release men for fighting. The Ministry of National Service was responsible for controlling the recruitment of all women for work of national importance. The records of the Ministry of National Service are held in record series NATS 1. Along with the Ministry of Labour (LAB 2), the Ministry of National Service was responsible for publicity campaigns and co-ordinating the recruitment of all three women's services.

2. Women's Army Auxiliary Corps

2.1 Administrative records

The Women's Army Auxiliary Corps (WAAC) was founded in March 1917: it was renamed as Queen Mary's Army Auxiliary Corps in April 1918. The main sources of material are held in WO 32 and WO 162. The records cover matters such as recruitment and organisation, status, discipline, accommodation, uniform, transfer of members to WRNS and WRAF, pay and conditions of service. War Diaries for the Women's Army Auxiliary Corps give a daily account of arrivals, departures, promotions, inspections and any disciplinary matters (WO 95/84, WO 95/85). There is a selection of medical records for women in MH 106.

2.2 WAAC service records

WAAC records of service are in WO 398. These suffered severe damage as a result of a German air raid in September 1940 - around 7000 survived. They are arranged alphabetically by surname, and are available online. Access is free onsite at The National Archives. They may include an enrolment form (name, age, address, parent's nationality, marital status), statement of services (grade, location, promotions, name and address of next of kin), identification certificate, health, questionnaire, references, form of application, clothing history sheet, casualty form, and other related correspondence.

3. Women's Royal Air Force

3.1 Administrative records

The Women's Royal Air Force (WRAF) was formed on 1 April 1918, at the same time as the Royal Air Force. Records document the development of the WRAF, its organisation, constitution, recruitment of personnel, and its disbandment. The official history of the Women's Royal Air Force (in AIR 1/681/21/13/2212) is an invaluable source of information on the administration of the service, daily routines, discipline and schemes for demobilisation of women. For the more detailed administration and every day matters of the WRAF, see AIR 2 code 41/5 and code 56/15, AIR 10 and WO 162. AIR 2 includes a number of registered files from the Air Ministry on matters such as constitution and administration, recruitment, training and uniform and the disbandment of the WRAF.

3.2 WRAF service records

Service records of WRAF officers are not known to survive. Service records of airwomen are in AIR 80 and are arranged alphabetically by surname, and are available online. Access is free onsite at The National Archives. They may include examples of enrolment forms for the WRAF and also for the WAACS, and the WRNS. Enrolment forms may include age, address, religion, marital status, dependants, details of next of kin, statement of services and promotions, transfers, trade, and a physical description of the woman. There is a sample of medical records in MH 106/1497.

There is also an index in AIR 79 to personnel who have served in the airforce which includes women. The index is by surname and provides details of service number.

4. Women's Royal Naval Service

4.1 Administrative records

The Women's Royal Naval Service (WRNS) was first established in November 1917. The formation and organisation, the administration and the management of the Women's Royal Naval Service is particularly well documented by records in ADM 116/3739, ADM 116/3740, ADM 116/3741. Other documents worth noting are ADM 116/1917 which is a short summary of the organisation, work and manning of stations, and ADM 116/1918 which again concerns matters of personnel and establishment. There are also a number of documents in ADM 1 which concern the planning of the service.

4.2 WRNS Officers' service records short service First World War

The records of WRNS Officers who served between 1917 and 1919 can be found in ADM 318 and can be searched and downloaded. The files comprise correspondence, attestation forms, and contain a wealth of personal information and anecdotal detail. Two registers of appointments, promotions and resignations of WRNS officers for 1917-1919 are in ADM 321. The records in ADM 340 may mention details of service during the First World War if an officer served in the Second World War as well.

4.3 WRNS ratings registers of service First World War

Registers of Service for women who served in the Women's Royal Navy during the First World War are held in ADM 336 and are available online. The register provides service history, age on enrolment, next of kin, and remarks regarding character and ability.

WRNS records after 1919 are now held at: The Directorate of Personnel Support (Navy), Navy Search, TNT Archive Services, Tetron Point, William Nadin Way, Swadlincote, DE11 0BB. Tel: 01283 227913 Fax: 01283 227942.

5. Medals and awards

There are Campaign Medal Rolls WW1 for Women's Services which list the award of British and Victory Medals, and also the Silver War Badge held in WO 329. The index to the medal cards is available online. Access is free onsite at The National Archives.

Details of women who received honours of OBE, CBE, MBE, DBE, Mentioned in Despatches are listed in the document WO 162/65.

Women who were awarded the Military Medal or who were Mentioned in Despatches are included on the card indexes to the Military Medal and Mentioned in Despatches which are again available online. There is no charge to access these records onsite at The National Archives. The cards are in alphabetical order of surname. The awards were also announced in the London Gazette, available online or at The National Archives in ZJ 1.

Guide reference: Military Records Information 74 | Last updated: 10 December 2009

The Catalogue

Search descriptions of 11 million documents from the UK central government, law courts and other national bodies.

  • Download this guide as a PDF