1. Indexes to the National Register of Archives
These notes briefly describe the unpublished sources noted in the National Register of Archives (NRA), the principal relevant repositories with strong collections relating to architectural history and the general works of reference.
The indexes to the NRA are indexes to the creators of records. It is possible to search for the records of corporate bodies or the papers of families and individuals, and for groups of letters from prominent individuals which are to be found in collections other than their own. It is not possible to use the indexes to search for single letters or papers relating to a certain theme, eg Rococo.
Architects' papers are noted on both the NRA Personal Index and Business Index. Papers of architects who appear in major biographical works of reference such as Who's Who are most likely to be noted on the Personal Index, while records of architectural practices should all be found on the Business Index. Papers of some individual architects are also noted on this index.
Users can access the indexes to the National Register of Archives and search help online.
2. Printed index of papers relating to art and architecture
As well as the above mentioned computerised indexes to the NRA, there are four typescript indexes to art (and architecture) papers mentioned in catalogues and NRA reports received from repositories in the years 1969-1972. These are bound together and available in the searchroom. They are useful in that they refer to individual items, whereas the computerised indexes only notice groups of papers.
3. Accessions to repositories
Each year The National Archives contacts approximately 250 of the principal record repositories in the British Isles in order to discover which major and unusual accessions have been received. This information is added to the indexes to the National Register of Archives. It is also edited and used to produce thirty-three thematic digests, including one relating to architecture. The digests are made available through this web site and distributed for publication in a number of learned journals and newsletters.
4. Artists Papers Register
The Artists Papers Register contains many references to architects' papers in repositories around the country. Although information about architects' papers was not specifically sought by the project officers, a number of details about plans etc were drawn from the NRA and supplemented with information on collections at local level. Users seeking information about architects and architectural history should consult it in addition to the NRA.
5. Relevant repositories
The following provides details of repositories and institutions that hold major collections relating to architectural history.
Lambeth Palace Library, London SE1 7JU
Holds 15,000 files and minute books of the Incorporated Church Building Society (ICBS), established in 1818. Its records consist of plans, drawings, correspondence and photographs from 1818 until 1967. A database index to the collection allows searches to be made under the names of architects, churches, counties and dioceses.
National Monuments Record, Kemble Drive, Swindon SN2 2GZ
Maintained by English Heritage, this serves as England's national collection of photographs, drawings and written records of historic buildings and archaeological sites. The National Monuments Record (NMR) holdings include records produced as a result of survey work undertaken by the former Royal Commission on the Historical Monuments of England, aerial photographs covering the whole of England, deposited collections, early Ordnance Survey maps and statutory lists of listed buildings. The main finding aids are the Listed Building System (LBS), a database containing details of all listed buildings in England, and MONARCH, the main database of information.
National Monuments Record of Scotland, Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Scotland, John Sinclair House, 16 Bernard, Edinburgh EH8 9NX
Maintained by the Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Scotland, which was established in 1908 to make an inventory of the surviving built heritage of Scotland. Performs similar functions to the English NMR. The principal finding aid to the NMRS is CANMORE, which can be searched online.
National Monuments Record of Wales, Crown Building, Plas Crug, Aberystwyth SY23 1NJ
Maintained by the Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Wales, which was established in 1908 to make an inventory of the ancient and historical monuments of Wales and Monmouthshire. Performs similar functions to the English NMR.
The National Archives, Kew, Richmond, Surrey TW9 4DU
Although the indexes to the NRA do include references to locally deposited public records which have strayed from official custody, comprehensive information about public records will not be found in the NRA, so the best place to start is using Discovery, our catalogue. Records of successive works departments are held at The National Archives under the series WORK. Also held here are the records of the architects departments of many government bodies, such as the Education Department, Local Government Board and the Poor Law Commission.
Maps, plans and architectural drawings are scattered throughout many different series of records; see Maps and Plans in The National Archives 1. British Isles c1410-1860 (HMSO 1967).
Two major national and international resources based in London have entered into a joint initiative: the V&A + RIBA Architecture Partnership brings together in a single location the drawings and archives collections of the Royal Institute of British Architects and the architectural drawings and photographs in the collections of the Victoria and Albert (V&A) Museum. From November 2004 these collections are accessible through the appropriate study rooms in the Henry Cole Wing of the V&A. The collections contain material likely to be of interest to researchers studying particular buildings or architects, whether in the public or private sector, from the Renaissance to the present day. Access is free, but appoitments are required.
The location and postal address are:
V&A South Kensington
London SW7 2RL
For further information about the RIBA's drawings and archives collections and the RIBA Study Room, visit the RIBA website and follow the links to the Architecture Gallery and the V&A + RIBA Architecture Partnership.
Telephone +44 (0) 207 307 3708
Email: Drawings and Archives at RIBA
For further information about the V&A's collections of architectural drawings and photographs and the Prints and Drawings Study Room, visit the links to Architecture.
Tel: +44 (0) 20 7942 2563
Fax: +44 (0) 20 7942 2410
RIBA's library and photographic collections are at RIBA headquarters. The library catalogue is also accessible online, follow the links to Library and Catalogue.
RIBA British Architectural Library
Royal Institute of British Architects
66 Portland Place
London W1B 1AD
Tel: +44 (0) 20 7580 5533
Fax: +44 (0) 20 7255 1541
Public Information Line - Mon-Fri: 10:00 - 17:00 (GMT)
Tel: +44 (0) 906 302 0400
(Information line calls charged at 50p per minute in the UK. These lines cannot be accessed from outside the UK)
Library Information (24-hour recorded):
Tel: + 44 (0) 20 7307 3707
(administrations, loans, photographs, manuscripts)
Sir John Soane's Museum, 13 Lincolns Inn Fields, London WC2A 3BP
Holds Sir John Soane's personal correspondence, and journals, account books and other papers connected with his professional practice. Also holds the manuscript Book of Architecture of John Thorpe.
6. Local record offices
Nearly all local repositories hold a wide range of estate, inclosure, tithe and Ordnance Survey maps for the area they cover, many of which may help in tracing the development of an estate, or the changing block plan of a building. Licences, or faculties, for alterations to churches, which can include plans, may be among parish or diocesan collections; and plans for 19th century buildings will be among planning applications included in the records of district councils. Records concerning specialist buildings such as schools, workhouses, prisons and non-conformist churches may be among locally held collections. Building accounts and plans can often be found in collections of family and estate papers. In addition, these repositories usually have a good collection of prints, drawings, photographs and sale particulars, as well as the standard sources such as census and land tax returns. Contact details for local repositories can be found on the ARCHON Directory.
7. Useful links
Access to Archives (A2A) aims to create a virtual national archives catalogue, bringing together a critical mass of information about the rich national archival heritage and making that information available globally from one source via the World Wide Web. The records are held in geographically dispersed archives offices in England.
The Archives Hub provides a single point of access to descriptions of archives held in UK universities and colleges. At present these are primarily at collection-level, although where possible they are linked to complete catalogue descriptions. The Archives Hub forms one part of the UK's National Archives Network, alongside related networking projects.
Archives in London and the M25 area (AIM25) is a major project to provide electronic access to collection level descriptions of the archives of over fifty higher education institutions and learned societies within the greater London area.
The Scottish Archive Network was established: to create an electronic network and search room linking the catalogues of nearly 50 Scottish archives; to provide a range of additional electronic services including a Knowledge Base of Frequently Asked Questions on Scottish history, together with exhibitions, publications, discussion groups, all of which will enhance and encourage the use of Scottish archives; to create a computerised index to the wills of Scots from 1500 to 1875, and to link this to digital images of the wills, thus opening up a vast historical resource.
Scottish Architects' Papers Preservation Project (SAPPP) The project exists to catalogue and conserve 150,000 drawings, photographs and manuscripts from 25 architectural practices from across Scotland. The material dates from the 1840s to the 1970s and includes the work of significant figures such as Sir Robert Lorimer and Sir Basil Spence as well as longstanding rural practices in Aberdeenshire and Caithness. In a separate but related project 34,000 drawings from the architectural practice of Dick Peddie & McKay are being catalogued and conserved.
The cross-sectoral collaborative project, The Drawn Evidence: Scotland's Development Through its Architectural Archives from Industrialisation to the Millennium, 1780 - 2000, has produced a digital research resource to widen access to a selection of vulnerable, under-utilised archival collections. Included are 300 drawings, held by the University of Edinburgh, of Sir Rowand Anderson, one of Scotland's foremost architects. The products will include a website (currently unavailable, check for updates), a web-based introduction to architectural sources in Scotland and CD-Rom storage of images.
8. Further reading
Rebecca M Bailey, Scottish architects' papers: a source book (1996)
HM Colvin, A biographical dictionary of British architects 1600-1840 (third edition, 1995)
HM Colvin (ed), The history of the King's works (1973-)
HM Colvin, English architectural history: A guide to sources (second edition, 1976)
Roger Dixon and Stefan Muthesius, Victorian architecture (1978)
Alison Felstead, Jonathan Franklin, Leslie Pinfield, Directory of British architects 1834-1900 (1993)
A Stuart Gray, Edwardian architecture: A biographical dictionary (1985)
John Harvey, English mediaeval architects: A biographical dictionary down to 1550 (1987)
John H Harvey, Sources for the history of houses (British Records Association, Archives and the User No. 3, 1974)
Rolf Loeber, A biographical dictionary of architects in Ireland 1600-1720 (1981)
Nikolaus B Pevsner (et al), The buildings of England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales (1951-)