The National Archives - link to home page  
 

Main website navigation:

   
 

Abbey and graveyard, 1903. Cat ref: COPY1/465Local History - your guide to resources

 
 
 
 

Bibliography

General

NW Alcock, Old Title Deeds: A Guide for Local and Family Historians (Phillimore 2001 edn)

Jonathan Bardon, A Guide to Local History Sources in the Public Record Office of Northern Ireland (2000)

Joy Bristow, The Local Historian's Glossary of Words and Terms (Countryside Books 2001 edn)

Michael Cox, Exploring Scottish History: A Directory of Resource Centres for Scottish Local and National History in Scotland (1992)

David Dymond, Writing Local History: A Practical Guide (1981)

Simon Fowler, Starting Out in Local History (Countryside Books 2001)

Stephen Friar, The Local History Companion (Sutton 2001)

Susanna Guy, English Local Studies Handbook: A Guide to Resources for each County including Libraries, Record Offices, Societies, Journals and Museums (1992)

David Hey, Oxford Companion to Local and Family History (1996)

David Moody, Scottish Local History: An Introductory Guide (1986)

John Richardson, The Local Historians Encyclopaedia (1986)

Philip Riden, Local History: A handbook for beginners (2nd ed, 1998)

Philip Riden, Record Sources for Local History (1987)

Cecil Sinclair, Tracing Scottish Local History: A Guide to Local History Research in the Scottish Record Office (1994)

JG Ryan, Irish Records: Sources for Family and Local History (1988)

WB Stephens, Sources for English Local History (1994)

WE Tate, The Parish Chest: A Study of the Records of Parochial Administration in England (1969)

Kate Tiller, English Local History: An Introduction (Sutton, revised edn, 2001)

John West, Town Records (1983)

John West, Village Records (2nd ed, 1982)

Trevor Yorke, Tracing the History of Villages (Countryside Books)

Special subjects

John Stuart Batts, British Manuscript Diaries of the 19th Century: An Annotated Listing (1976)

JA Edwards, Historical Farm Records (1973)

Peter Edwards, Farming: Sources for Local Historians (1991)

Peter Edwards, Rural Life: Guide to Local Records (1993)

Mary Ellis, Using Manorial Documents, Public Record Office Readers' Guide No 7 (1997)

A Elton, B Harrison and K Wark, Researching the Country House: A Guide for Local Historians (1992)

Stephen Porter, Exploring Urban History: Sources for Local Historians (1990)

Eric J Evans, Tithe: Maps, Apportionments and the 1836 Act, The Local Historian at Work 6 (1993)

PDA Harvey, Manorial Records, British Records Association, Archives and the User Guide No 5 (1984)

Brian Paul Hindle, Maps for Local History (1988)

Roger Kain and Hugh Prince, The Tithe Surveys of England and Wales (1985)

Dennis Mills and Kevin Schurer (eds), Local Communities in the Victorian Census Enumerators' Books (1996)

Alan Rogers and Trevor Rowley (eds), Landscapes and Documents (1974)

Gareth Shaw and Allison Tipper, British Directories: A Bibliography and Guide (1989)

Francis Sheppard and Victor Belcher 'The Deed Registries of Yorkshire and Middlesex' in Journal of the Society of Archivists 6 (1980), pp274-286

Standing Conference for Local History, Hedges and Local History (1979)

WB Stephens and RW Unwin, Materials for the Local and Regional Study of Schooling 1700-1900, British Records Association, Archives and the User Guide No. 7 (1987)

Anne Tarver, Church Court Records: An Introduction for Family and Local Historians (1995)

WE Tate, A Domesday of English Enclosure Acts and Awards (1978)

Non-manuscript sources

MW Barley, A Guide to British Topographical Collections (1974). [A brief guide to collections of topographical illustrations in public repositories]

Stephan Caunce, Oral History and the Local Historian (1994)

Peter Dale (ed), Museums and Special Collections in the United Kingdom (2nd ed, 1996)

David Marcombe, Sounding Boards: Oral Testimony and the Local Historian (1995)

George Oliver, Photographs and Local History (1989)

John Wall, Directory of British Photographic Collections (1977)

 
     
  Return to guide