How to look for records of... Merchant ships

How can I view the records covered in this guide?

View online

How many are online?

  • None
  • Some
  • All

Order copies

We can either copy our records onto paper or deliver them to you digitally

Pay for research

Use our paid search service or find an independent researcher

Visit us

Visit us in Kew to see original documents or view online records for free



This is a brief guide to finding records of merchant ships. The National Archives holds many records relating to government regulation of merchant shipping, but they can be difficult to search. There are also many records of merchant shipping in local archives.

What records can I see online?

Merchant shipping movement cards (1939-1946)

Search and download surviving merchant shipping movement cards (BT 389) in Discovery, our catalogue, (£) for the Second World War.

What records can I find at The National Archives at Kew?

Agreements and crew lists (1747-1860)

Search the agreements and crew lists in BT 98 by date range and port of registry.

Date range (yyyy):

Date range (yyyy)

Agreements and crew lists (1835-1994)

Search for agreements and crew lists by ship’s official number (obtainable from the Miramar Ship Index (£) in BT 99, BT 380 and BT 381. (For some dates after 1927, you will have to browse our catalogue as the numbers are given as ranges).

Daily casualty registers and index to ships (1940-1945)

Browse our catalogue in BT 347 for records of daily ship casualties, mainly due to enemy action but also including other routine causes of losses at sea.

British merchant and fishing vessels sunk or damaged by enemy action (1914-1920)

Browse our catalogue in MT 25/83-85 for lists of British merchant and fishing vessels sunk or damaged by enemy action 1914-1920.

To access these records you will either need to visit us, pay for research (£) or, where you can identify a specific record reference, order a copy (£).

What records can I find in other archives and organisations?

Agreements and crew lists (1861-1994)

Look at the websites of other archives and organisations which hold agreements and crew lists, including the Maritime History Archive in Newfoundland, the National Maritime Museum, the National Records of Scotland, the National Archives of Ireland, and local archives, especially those in port towns and cities.

What other resources will help me find information?

Publications

Consult Lloyd’s List, which has been printed since 1734, first weekly and then daily. It provides information on merchant shipping for insurance companies and the maritime industry. Copies are held by the Guildhall Library, National Maritime Museum and other archives.

Consult Lloyd’s Register, printed since 1764 and published annually. The Register provides information about all sea-going merchant ships, including their condition.

Websites

Consult the Crew List Index Project (CLIP) website, which has information about merchant ships from 1861 to 1913.

Consult the Miramar Ship Index (£) website, a historical database listing some categories of merchant and naval ships.

Consult the ShipIndex.org (£) website, a database of ships mentioned in books, journals, websites and other resources.

Did you know?

Agreements and crew lists often also contain integral logs giving details of ships and voyages.

Although the numbers of ships and trained sailors have been recorded since the medieval period, few of these early records survive.

A series of Navigation Acts from 1660 onwards aimed to make British merchants use British built ships with predominantly British masters for the carriage of their goods. Registration of ships came about as a result of these Acts.

The Registrar General of Shipping and Seamen (renamed the Registry of Shipping and Seamen in 1992) was formally established by the Merchant Shipping Act 1872.