Bibliography
General
David Annal, Easy Family History: The stress-free guide to starting your research (London: The National Archives, 2005).
Amanda Bevan, Tracing your Ancestors in The National Archives The Website and Beyond
(London: The National Archives, 2006).
Peter Christian, The Genealogist´s Internet (London: The National Archives, 2nd edn, 2003).
Stella Colwell, The National Archives: a practical guide for family historians (London:The National Archives, 2006)
David Hey, Journeys in Family History. (London: The National Archives, 2004).
Mark Pearsall, Family History Companion: Fast-forward your family history search (London: The National Archives, 2007)
Readers Digest, Explore Your Family´s Past (London: Readers Digest Association, 2000).
Recording the People
Else Churchill, ed, Census Copies and Indexes in the Library of the Society of Genealogists (London: Society of Genealogists, 3rd edn, 1997).
Mary Ellis, Using Manorial Records. (London: Public Record office and Historical Manuscripts Commission, 1997).
Jeremy Gibson, The Hearth Tax Returns, other later Stuart Tax Lists, and the Association Oath Rolls (Federation of Family History Societies, 2nd edn, 1996).
Jeremy Gibson and Else Churchill, Probate Jurisdictions: Where to look for Wills (FFHS, 5th edn 2002).
J Gibson and A Dell, Tudor and Stuart Muster Rolls, A Directory of holdings in the British Isles (FFHS, 1991).
Jeremy Gibson and Elizabeth Hampson, Census Returns, 1841-1891, in Microform, A Directory to Local Holdings in Great Britain and Ireland; Channel Islands; Isle of Man (FFHS, 6th edn 2001).
Jeremy Gibson and Elizabeth Hampson, Marriage and Census Indexes for Family Historians (FFHS, 8th edn 2000).
J Gibson and M Medlycott, Local census listings, 1522-1930, holdings in the British Isles (FFHS, 3rd edn 2001).
J Gibson and M Medlycott, Militia Lists and Musters, 1757-1876 (FFHS, 3rd edn 1994).
J S W Gibson, M Medlycott and D Mills, Land and Window Tax Assessments, 1690-1950 (FFHS, 2nd edn 1998).
Karen Grannum and Nigel Taylor, Wills and Other Probate Records (London: The National Archives, 2004).
Mark Herber, Clandestine Marriages in the Chapel and Rules of the Fleet Prison 1680-1754 (London: Francis Boutle Publishers, 3 vols. 1998-2001).
Richard Hoyle, Tudor Taxation Records, A Guide for Users (Public Record Office, 1994).
Cecil R Humphery-Smith, The Phillimore Atlas and Index of Parish Registers (Chichester, Phillimore, 3rd edn 2003).
F Leeson, A Guide to the Records of the British State Tontines and Life Annuities of the 17th and 18th Centuries (Shalfleet Manor, 1968).
Susan Lumas, Making Use of the Census (London: Public Record Office, 4th edn 2002).
David Shorney, Protestant Nonconformity and Roman Catholicism, A guide to sources in the Public Record Office (London: Public Record Office, 1996).
People at work
C J Edwards, Railway Records: A Guide to Sources (London: Public Record Office 2001).
David T Hawkings, Railway Ancestors (Stroud, Alan Sutton, 1995).
J Herlihy, The Royal Irish Constabulary. A Complete Alphabetical List of Officers and Men, 1816-1922 (Dublin: Four Courts Press, 1999).
Tom Richards, Was Your Grandfather a Railwayman? A Directory of Railway Archive Sources for Family Historians. (FFHS, 4th edn, 2002).
J C Sainty and R O Bucholz, Officials of the Royal Household, 1660-1837. 2 vols. (London: Institute of Historical Research, 1997-98).
Kelvin Smith, Christopher T Watts, and Michael J Watts, Records of Merchant Shipping and Seamen (London: Public Record Office, 1998).
The Armed Forces
Royal Navy
Bruno Pappalardo, Tracing your Naval Ancestors (London: Public Record Office, 2002).
NAM Rodger, Naval Records for Family Historians (London: Public Record Office, 1998).
Royal Marines
Garth Thomas, Records of the Royal Marines. (London: Public Record Office, 1994).
British Army
Kevin J Asplin, The Roll of the Imperial Yeomanry, Scottish Horse and Lovats Scouts. Second Boer War 1899-1902. (Salisbury, 2000).
E W Bell, Soldiers Killed on the First Day of the Somme (Bolton, 1977).
Simon Fowler and William Spencer, Army Records for Family Historians (London: Public Record Office, 2nd edn 1998).
Norman Holding, revised and updated by I Swinnerton, The Location of British Army Records, 1914-1918 (FFHS, 4th edn 1999).
Norman Holding, World War 1 Army Ancestry (FFHS, 3rd edn 1997).
Norman Holding, More Sources of World War 1 Ancestry (FFHS, 3rd edn 1998).
Marquis de Ruvigny, The Roll of Honour: a biographical record of members of His Majesty's Naval and Military Forces who fell in the Great War (2 vols, London 1986 reprint).
Gerard Oram and Julien Putkowski, Death sentences passed by military courts of the British Army, 1914-1924 (London, 1998).
Julien Putkowski, British Army mutineers, 1914-1922 (London, 1998).
Michael Roper, The Records of the War Office and related departments 1660-1964. (London: Public Record Office, 1998).
Soldiers Died in the Great War, 1914-19 (CDROM, Heathfield, 1998).
William Spencer, Army Service Records of the First World War (London: Public Record Office, 3rd expanded edn, 2001).
William Spencer, Records of the Militia and Volunteer Forces 1757-1945. (London: Public Record Office, 1997).
Royal Air Force
C Hobson, Airmen died in the Great War 1914-1918: the roll of honour of the British and Commonwealth Air Services of the First World War (Polstead, 1995).
William Spencer, Air Force Records for Family Historians. (London: Public Record Office, 2000).
Medals
William Spencer, Medals: The Researcher's Guide (London: The National Archives, 2006).
Migrant Ancestors
E Bull, Aided Immigration from Britain to South Africa, 1857-1867 (Pretoria, 1991).
P W Coldham, American Loyalist Claims, Audit Office Series 13, bundles 1-35, and 37. (Baltimore, 1980).
P W Coldham, Bonded Passengers to America, 1615-1775 (Baltimore, 1983).
P W Coldham, The Complete Book of Emigrants, 1607-1776 (Baltimore, 4 vols, 1987-1993).
J Gibson and C Rogers, Poor Law Union Records, 3 parts (FFHS, 2nd edn, 1997-2000).
J Gibson and F A Youngs, Jr, Poor Law Union Records: 4 Gazetteer of England and Wales (FFHS,2nd edn 1997).
Geoffrey Yeo, The British Overseas. (London: Guildhall Library, 3rd edn, 1995).
Guy Grannum, Tracing Your West Indian Ancestors. (London: Public Record Office, 2nd edn, 2002).
J C Hotton, Original Lists of Persons Emigrating to America, 1600-1700 (London, 1874).
Roger Kershaw, Emigrants and Expats: A guide to sources on UK emigration and residents overseas. (London: Public Record Office, 2002).
Roger Kershaw and Mark Pearsall, Immigrants and Aliens: A guide to sources on UK immigration and citizenship. (London: The National Archives, 2nd edn, 2004).
Roger Kershaw and Mark Pearsall, Family History on the Move: Where your ancestors went and why (London: The National Archives, 2006)
P William Philby et al, Passenger and Immigration Lists Index. (Detroit, Gale Group, and Thomson Gale, 1981, with supplements, 1982-2003).
P Philip, British Residents at the Cape, 1795-1819 (Cape Town, 1981).
M R Sainty and K A Johnson, eds, New South Wales: Census … November 1828 (Sydney, 1980).
Christopher T & Michael J Watts, Tracing Births, Deaths and Marriages at Sea. (London, Society of Genealogists, 2004).
Ancestors and the Law
Michelle Cale, Law and Society, An Introduction to Sources for Criminal and Legal History from 1800 (London: Public Record Office, 1996).
PW Coldham, Complete Book of Emigrants in Bondage, 1614-1775 (Baltimore, 1987, Supplement 1992).
P G Fidlon and R J Ryan, eds, The First Fleeters (Sydney, 1981).
J Gibson and C Rogers, Coroners' Records in England and Wales (FFHS, 3rd edn2000).
David T Hawkings, Bound for Australia (Chichester, Phillimore, 1987).
David T Hawkings, Criminal Ancestors, A Guide to Historical Criminal Records in England and Wales (Stroud, Alan Sutton, 1992).
Henry Horwitz, Chancery Equity Records and Proceedings 1600-1800 (London: Public Record Office, 1998).
Henry Horwitz, Exchequer Equity Records and Proceedings 1649-1841 (London: Public Record Office, 2001).
R J Ryan, The Second Fleet Convicts (Sydney, 1982).
