The Lord Chancellor appoints the members of the Advisory Council. Members are appointed because they have skills and experience relevant to the work of the council. They are not paid.

As an advisory Non Departmental Public Body, the Advisory Council adheres to the Code of Practice set out by the Office of the Commissioner for Public Appointments.

Members 2014

CHAIRMAN: Lord Dyson, Master of the Rolls

Mr John Collins CBE, Formerly Deliverer of the Vote, House of Commons

Dr Jeevan Deol, Affiliated Research Associate, Faculty of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies, University of Cambridge

Ms Sarah Fahy, Global Head of Library Services, Know How and Training Department at Allen and Overy LLP

Dr Bendor Grosvenor, Art Historian and Adviser on Culture Policy

Mr Stephen Hawker CB, Independent Consultant

Mr Graeme Herd, Project Manager, North Ayrshire Council

Ms Elizabeth Lomas, Researcher and Tutor at Northumbria University, formerly Head of Records Management Services for the Royal Household

Professor Arthur Lucas CBE, Emeritus Professor of Science Curriculum Studies at, and was formerly Principal of, Kings College London

Mr John Millen, Formerly Policy Director, Ministry of Defence


(last updated July 2014)