Changes to the British Cabinet in 1986

 01 January09 January21 May
Prime MinisterMargaret ThatcherMargaret ThatcherMargaret Thatcher
Foreign SecretarySir Geoffrey HoweSir Geoffrey HoweSir Geoffrey Howe
Chancellor of the ExchequerNigel LawsonNigel LawsonNigel Lawson
Chief Secretary to the TreasuryJohn MacGregorJohn MacGregorJohn MacGregor
Home SecretaryDouglas HurdDouglas HurdDouglas Hurd
Secretary of State for the EnvironmentKenneth BakerKenneth BakerNicholas Ridley
Secretary of State for DefenceMichael HeseltineGeorge YoungerGeorge Younger
Secretary of State for EmploymentLord Young of GraffhamLord Young of GraffhamLord Young of Graffham
Secretary of State for Education and ScienceSir Keith JosephSir Keith JosephKenneth Baker
Secretary of State for Trade & IndustryLeon BrittanPaul Channon (24 January)Paul Channon
Secretary of State for EnergyPeter WalkerPeter WalkerPeter Walker
Secretary of State for Health and Social SecurityNorman FowlerNorman FowlerNorman Fowler
Secretary of State for Northern IrelandTom KingTom KingTom King
Secretary of State for ScotlandGeorge YoungerMalcolm Rifkind (11 January)Malcolm Rifkind
Secretary of State for WalesNicholas EdwardsNicholas EdwardsNicholas Edwards
Secretary of State for TransportNicholas RidleyJohn Moor (21 May)Nicholas Ridley
Lord ChancellorLord HailshamLord HailshamLord Hailsham
Lord President of the Council and Leader of the House of LordsViscount WhitelawViscount WhitelawViscount Whitelaw
Lord Privy Seal and Leader of the House of CommonsJohn BiffenJohn BiffenJohn Biffen
Chancellor of the Duchy of LancasterNorman TebbitNorman TebbitNorman Tebbit
Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries, and FoodMichael JoplingMichael JoplingMichael Jopling
Minister for the ArtsRichard LuceRichard LuceRichard Luce
Minister without PortfolioVacantVacantVacant

Tags: 1986, cabinet

Related news

Files from 1986-88 released

Friday 19 February 2016

Newly released files from 1986-88

Wednesday 30 December 2015