New non-executive board members appointed

Five new non-executive members have been appointed to The National Archives Board, bringing rich and varied experience from different fields including commercial and digital, government and public services and academia and culture. This mix is reflective of the diverse nature of our organisation and the scale of our ambitions as we strive to deliver our Archives Inspire 2015-19 strategy.

For the first time, there will be a lead non-executive board member and a new independent external member of the Audit and Risk Committee.

We welcome the following board members from 1 January 2016:

Lesley Cowley, OBE – Lead Non-executive Board Member

Lesley is currently Chair of the Driver and Vehicle Licensing Agency (DVLA) where she is helping to lead the DVLA’s digital transformation. Until July 2014, Lesley was Chief Executive at Nominet, the award-winning domain name registry and critical internet infrastructure operator for ‘.uk’ domain names. Lesley was awarded the OBE in 2011 for service to the internet and e-commerce.

Dr Claire Feehily – Non-executive Board Member and Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee

Dr Claire Feehily is currently a non-executive director at several health and housing organisations. At Guinness Care and Support she is Chair of the Audit Committee and member of The Guinness Partnership’s Group Audit and Risk Committee. Claire has held a range of board-level roles and is a qualified accountant with an extensive background in local government. Claire holds a PhD and is an active researcher, having  taught at Birkbeck College and the School of Advanced Study, University of London, as well as The University of Bath.

Brian Gambles, MBE – Non-executive Board Member

Brian was most recently Director, Library of Birmingham where he was responsible for the creation, delivery and direction of the library. Since September 2010, he has been Executive Director, Library of Birmingham Development Trust, developing and implementing strategies for fundraising, volunteer and donor engagement. Brian has previously served as a non-executive Board member for the Media Archive of Central England, the Health Exchange CIC and the Society of Chief Librarians, and is currently Chair of Writing West Midlands. Brian was awarded an MBE in 2014 for services to libraries.

Peter Phippen – Non-executive Board Member

Peter Phippen is the Deputy Chairman of Immediate Media Co, and the Chairman of Sift, both in the field of digital publishing. Peter is also Chairman of Texere Ltd (a digital publisher) and Chairman of Bell Ltd (an education business). Peter has spent nearly 30 years in the media industry, holding board positions in the UK, USA, India and Australia. Peter’s previous roles have included President and Chief Executive Officer of BBC Worldwide Americas Incorporated, where he was responsible for all of the BBC’s commercial activities in North and South America, and ten years as Managing Director of BBC Magazines. Peter continues at The National Archives having previously served as a Non-executive Director.

Maurice Goddard – Independent Member of the Audit and Risk Committee

Maurice is currently Head of Internal Audit at UK Payments, supporting payment scheme companies that are components of the critical national infrastructure. He has previously held senior leadership or management positions within a number of large-scale financial services businesses, including Prudential Assurance, Royal & Sun Alliance, Prebon and Gerrards.

Jeff James, Chief Executive and Keeper of The National Archives says:

‘As a non-ministerial department, an independent research organisation, and as a national cultural heritage institution that pioneers digital innovations, I am delighted with the appointment of our new Board members. Their experience will provide us with the right levels of balance and insight that we need to deliver what we’ve set out to do for each of our major audiences in our ambitious four-year strategy Archives Inspire.’

Tags: national archives, news